We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms need an upgrade” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eddleston by Peebles | Scottish Borders, Eddleston EH45 8QW, Scotland (Formerly Barony Castle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eddleston
Irvine, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Rooms need an upgrade”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My boyfriend and I travelled to the Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel under a deal purchased on the internet for dinner bed and breakfast. Firstly I though with the name of the hotel Mercure Peebles Barony Castle would be an indication that the hotel was in Peebles but not so it is approximately 5 miles from Peebles and £10 each way in a taxi.

On arrival at reception we were warmly greeted by the staff - the reception area and public areas looked fine - so far so good - then we went to the allocated room - oh dear what a disappointment.

The room was grubby, the bathroom grouting had mould on it, there were marks on the walls where it looked like something had been thrown onto it and dried in, there were cobwebs in the corners at the window and the room was directly overlooked and not even a net curtain to stop the opposite room looking in only a roller blind which would have to have been closed blocking out any light you may have had when getting changed or ready to go out.

We went to the reception and complained, fair play they did upgrade us to a privelage room which was slightly better (overlooking the carpark) but still well below the standard (door handle missing off wardrobe, radiator needing a good clean/paint, marks on walls again) I would have expected for a chain like the Mercure, however we decided that it was better than the previous room and we did pay a deal rate for it.

We had booked dinner for 7pm but decided we would go into Peebles and called reception to change the dinner reservation which was no problem and headed off to Peebles for a couple of hours, it is a lovely town and well worth the visit.

We arrived back to the hotel for dinner, the restaurant area and bar area are all very nice, the dinner was nice although the pate was a bit tasteless (only my opinion) but decent portions and a fair choice of items.

The beds are comfortable and we had a decent nights sleep, the breakfast was buffet style and adequate.

All in all we did have a nice stay, pleasant staff nice public areas but on the downside the rooms need refurbished and it's not in Peebles, so maybe the Peebles should be taken out the name, the website isn't really that clear on how far it is from Peebles either.

So to conclude, don't be put off as it is adequate for an overnight stay but it's definately 2-3 star as opposed to 3-4 star.

Room Tip: Pay for a privelage room if you have the option
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Operations Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear wickedhes,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed and honest review. We are aware that a number of our rooms are in need of an upgrade and we are working through as much as business levels will allow.
We hope to get the chance to welcome you back to Barony in the future.

Kind regards

Peter S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    266
    160
    75
    40
See reviews for
126
428
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We booked my inlaws into the hotel week before last, two rooms we were taken to hadnt been cleaned, room three the bedding had been laid over the beds, duvet not actually put into the cover.
Towels were child size and you could exfoliate not dry with them.
General cleanliness was terrible we expected a far higher standard and as we were told two years ago the hotel was undergoing major renevations we thought it would be complete by now but doesnt seem anything much has changed.
The staff could do with customer training, and is it usual for a manager to meet guests wearing open necked shirt and chinos?
Very disappointing stay, more staff training a priority, housekeeping reviewed, such a shame such a beautiful building has gone downhill so badly.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Operations Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Jacky S,

It appears we have fallen well short of your expectations on this occasion, please accept our sincerest apologies for this. Issued within training have been highlighted recently and are being addressed.

Kind regards

Peter S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Third time staying here and it never fails.. Just a great Hotel with excellent staff especially the bar and reception staff..
We come here with a special Sunday deal which unfortunately stops over the summer but we'll be back again soon. Great location, facility's and especially enjoyed a wee cider siting out the back where it's a great sun trap.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Operations Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Marymc3,

We are delighted to see you enjoyed another stay with us. Your kind words have been passed on to all of the team.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Barony soon.

Kind regards

Peter S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed on an itison deal at the hotel, having stayed previously a few years ago. I paid the supplement for a superior room, however this is not worth the money, more or less a standard room. the loo would not flush properly, this was an irritant that was not resolved. The staff were pleasant, the dining room staff especially, the breakfast had a good choice and I would recommend the hotel for that. It is a handy place to stay on your journey to Edinburgh however it seems to have lost its way.

Room Tip: Visit Magecs map of Scotland in the grounds, currently it is being renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Peter S at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Snei,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on tripadvisor.
We are disappointed to hear that we have not made an improvement on your last stay but pleased to see that standards of service have not slipped.
We look forward to seeing you back at the Barony in the future.

Kind regards

Peter S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night last weekend. When we saw the hotel, we were amazed at the sheer grandness of the building. We checked in and immediately went to see the Map of Scotland made from rocks. This is a 3 minute walk from the hotel. The first room we were in was a twin and was clean but not the best view. We then went sightseeing and my wife decided to fall down a few steps so ended up busting her ankles. When we came back, the staff were kind enough to change our room to one closer to the lift. This turned out to be ideal as our first room was next to the majority of the wedding party that the previous reviewer refers to. It was a comfortable stay and good cleanliness all round.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Operations Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear ShahidAli7,

Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to acomodate your needs on this occasion.
We do hope your wife's ankle is better now.

Kind regards

Peter S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Address: Eddleston by Peebles | Scottish Borders, Eddleston EH45 8QW, Scotland (Formerly Barony Castle)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Eddleston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eddleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston
Barony Castle Hotel Peebles
Barony Castle Peebles
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.