We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eddleston by Peebles | Scottish Borders, Eddleston EH45 8QW, Scotland (Formerly Barony Castle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eddleston
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed at this hotel quite a few times but this stay topped the lot. we stayed in the Eddleston suite which was fabulous. went though a vestibule door before entering into the main suite. Absolutely beautiful. Had a large living area with 2 leather sofas and coffee table marble fireplace and wall mounted 52 inch television. We had three large windows in the room, one had a table and 2 chairs with a marble chess set, the second had a lovely love seat. There was a mini bar triple wardrobes and beautiful,designer free standing full length mirror. The room had a super king size and single bed but there was loads of free space. you walked through into another room to the bathroom which was as large as some hotel rooms I have stayed in, it had a beautiful free standing bath, mood lighting two large windows and Walk in shower room that 4 people could have showered In at once.
Didnt want to leave our suite it was so nice! The grounds are picturesque with lots of walks and little quiz questions at various points. the leisure facilities are of a high spec and the heated mosaic loungers are so relaxing. Dinner was excellent and the drinks were very reasonably priced. My son didn't like his dessert but without asking they came and asked what he would like instead,no charge either. Breakfast was a nice buffet selection but you also have options for made to order kippers, poached eggs, eggs Benedict etc. I would recommend this hotel for both families and couples.

Room Tip: avoid rooms directly above the swimming pool as you can hear the generators in your room. If you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    227
    138
    65
    34
See reviews for
108
368
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland uk
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed here one Sunday night due to a Groupon voucher. Hotel was okay although quite drab in places. Dinner which was a carvery was okay but not brilliant. There was nowhere in the surrounding area to go for a drink after dinner and the bar in the hotel lacked atmosphere so for this reason would probably not return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We just stayed here last night, it wasn't a bad experience, wouldn't rush back. The room was fine, bathroom was fine. We were going to upgrade to a privilege room but the staff were so run off there feet with the volume of people checking in that we didn't want to bother them. There were complaints galore from many people as we were waiting to check in. Which was a bit off putting. There was decorating going on in the corridor leading to the rooms which was a bit of a nightmare. Felt bad having to walk past because they were having to stop so made us feel like we were being a nuisance.
Spa area was very small, as it was a busy day there was no point in using it as there was no way you could get swimming! It was clean and looked nice tho.
We had a walk round the grounds which was lovely really enjoyable.
We ate at the restaurant for dinner which was lovely, couldn't fault it. We definitely go back for a meal but not for an over night stay.
The breakfast was ok, think we timed it wrong. Again was clean and waiting staff were helpful.
My only real complaint was that we ate early, then stayed in the bar for a few drinks before going up to our room, there were no crisps or anything at the bar. Or even a vending machine so the wee nibbles you want when you've had a wine you need to take yourself. As there isn't a shop near by either, you have to be organised. So on the grand scheme of things isn't really an issue but was annoying!

Room Tip: If I were you I'd upgrade to the slightly better room just to make the experience nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Rooms small, location quiet but remote. Food very good, other guests come 2nd to weddings. Rude and poorly knowledged Manager. Staff know nothing of Le Club Program, yet advertising it at reception. Very inadequate and inefficient welcome. Not recommended.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Just back from an overnight stay at this hotel, was a bit concerned after some of the reviews but can honestly say we had a lovely time. The room was comfortable and we were given an upgrade to include robes and slippers. The heated mirror in the bathroom was very quirky! The pool was a nice temperature and the heated loungers were brilliant.
Our evening dinner was very tasty and the night was topped off with a live group, which was totally unexpected. They were very entertaining and their music was fantastic.
Breakfast was delicious, with an excellent choice to suit all tastes.
I hope to return to the Mercure Barony Hotel again and would recommend it to others.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Spent a couples night away Monday 31st March and were greeted by friendly staff, we had already got a bargain through a website called Classic Britain but we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a privilege room and this was a much appreciated bonus.

The room was excellent, bed extremely comfy and bathroom huge.

We went to the spa when we got there and before we left, this was perfect to break up the day, it is small but certainly fit for purpose.

Drink a little on the steep side however the setting helped take out the sting!

Food at night very nice, breakfast self service but spot on too.

Would definitely book again, thanks again to staff who were friendly and approachable throughout our stay.

Room Tip: Book through classic Britain, always best bargains for short trips away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I booked a stay @ this hotel for myself ,wife & 2 friends as I had heard quite a lot about it and it was ideal for a short break and not a lot of travelling. When we arrived it looked pretty impressive for the price we had got it for, we got checked in and found our room to be lacking a coat of paint as there were marks on the wall and the usual big cobwebs hanging down from the blinds and corners of walls. This let the hotel down a bit as you could not meet any pleasanter staff who were only too happy to assist you especially with directions in the hotel as it can be a bit of a maze if you miss a sign pointing to your room number. The facilities were first class, swimming pool sauna etc, the service in the dining room on the first night was a bit slow & this was due to a shortage of staff, we had dinner booked for 19.30 & did not finish till after 10pm, what a difference on the 2nd night as you inundated with staff. I would recommend this hotel for a stay and let them judge for themselves as everybody has different opinions as I have noticed when reading other reviews for this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a front view of the grounds as we had to look out onto the staff quarters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Address: Eddleston by Peebles | Scottish Borders, Eddleston EH45 8QW, Scotland (Formerly Barony Castle)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Eddleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eddleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston
Barony Castle Hotel Peebles
Barony Castle Peebles
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.