We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, shame about breakfast and bar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Canterbury to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice rooms, shame about breakfast and bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here 2 weeks ago and it was something of a mixed bag.
Rooms were lovely, spacious and clean with comfortable bed and everything you would expect from a budget stay. Very impressed. Reception staff were also swift and efficient at check in and very pleasant. Be aware, phone signal here is dodgy due to location but hotel is aware of this and offer use of phones for urgent calls.

Unfortunately that's where the good bit ends. We were in Canterbury to visit my family and go to the theatre. Went down to the bar for a drink before we left and we're greeted by a member of staff who clearly didn't belong behind the bar. Ordered drinks for our large group and realised prices were extortionate but this wasn't necessarily unexpected. What was unexpected was to be served a warm bottle of white wine with no ice bucket and dirty, water-marked glasses. This may be a cheap hotel but this is fundamental. Also the tables were set for dinner and had plates of bog standard sliced white bread out, completely uncovered, for some time before the guests sat down. This was obviously a pre booked group and I suppose the choice of bread could be forgiven if this was what was requested but leaving lying out on the table is not acceptable.

Good night sleep was had so that was ok but then came breakfast. The breakfast area is poorly designed at best so it is very difficult to access but the worst thing came from the fact that there were no staff. When we got down, there were no bowls, plates, mugs or glasses and very little cutlery. Tables were piled with dirty dishes and trays so we had to clear our own table to sit at. Granted, guests are invites to clear their table to the racks provided but this was impossible as the racks were full so clearing was impossible. The only member of staff available was the receptionist who was clearing tables whilst trying to check people out. Chefs popped back and forth from the kitchen but could do little to help. They brought about 5 mugs out at a time which disappeared in about 30 seconds. No glasses were brought out the whole time we were there so no juice for us! The food itself was actually good but let down by a complete lack of service. This was not the fault of the staff on duty as they were doing their best, it was just badly organised. I appreciate this is a budget hotel but certain basics are expected and this was lacking.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    193
    91
    29
    14
See reviews for
108
165
15
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

nice and warm hotel with very adequate facilities and an excellent shower.
staff friendly . food perfectly acceptable especially as breakfast was included with everything except bacon!
the only slight drawback is that its a couple of miles out of canterbury.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the a2
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here with our family of four, two adults and two children under 4. The actual hotel is literally off the side of the highway and there's no other way to access it, only from the highway. When we arrived we were told we had actually been booked in 5 days previously, and marked as a no-show, despite having booked through a travel agent and having multiple documents with the correct date. We were also told that they would normally not allow both a cot and a sofa bed in one room and were not sure why we had booked for a triple plus cot, as they had no larger rooms. Our travel agent couldn't get us in anywhere else that night so we had to stay, with the cot in front of the door and two adults in a double bed.

The bed was comfortable enough, although the pillows were very thin, even the one labelled "firm". The walls were also very thin and we could clearly hear our neighbour's TV. The double sofa bed was at least comfortable.

The shower was warm and had great pressure which was quite frankly the best thing about the room.
The free wifi was terribly slow which made it difficult to use.

Breakfast was ok although not wonderful. There is literally nothing nearby, aside from a service station, and you have to drive the 10-15 min into Canterbury for any choice other than eating at the hotel.

When we informed reception we were checking out early we were immediately informed that there would be no refund. The lady did not enquire why we were leaving or even attempt to dissuade us from going. Terrible customer engagement and no thought as to customer satisfaction.

Overall I would only suggest staying here if you are a single traveller needing somewhere to sleep. Families should stay away! Other hotel is advertised as catering for families with up to 2 children under 18 but I fail to see where you would sleep a second child, unless they were to share a bed, which might work for younger children but I don't think teenagers would appreciate that.

Room Tip: Choose a room at another hotel if at all possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel.
We are happy to see you liked the comfortableness of the bed mattress and the power shower.
Please accept our apologies if you had any inconvenience due to the room lay out and the size.
As a Holiday Inn Express Hotel we do not have different size family rooms. All the family rooms are same size. Hence, we recommend and inform guests that if we arrange the double sofa bed and another cot the room will be overcrowded. This is for own benefit and health & safety of the guest. If guests need more space for a family, our interconnecting rooms will be the option.
Further we never advertise or described our family room are with three or four separate beds. We publish much information possible regarding the hotel to give avenue for our gets to know what they are booking before arriving to the hotel.
Sorry to hear Express start breakfast (which is always included to the room rate) and the free WI FI was not up to your expectation. We will forward these issues to relevant department to take necessary action.
We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests. Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again here at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury.

Regards
Malith Jayathilake
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Computers in lobby both not working and staff unhelpful - breakfast was pretty awful

Room was clean and comfortable - but miserly 2 coffee sachets for 2 people [2 decaf but don't drink those]

overall - disappointing and wont be back OR use HInn again

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property.

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced.
We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests; therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations.
We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

We hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Regards
Malith Jayathilake
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceredigion, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visiting family in the area, well used to this brand. All the facilities were there- Clean everywhere, welcoming staff, cosy bar, good bed, shower, wifi, breakfast selection, easy check out (bit of a rarity these days!)
Everything one expects of a better than average budget hotel

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have stayed here a few times in the last couple of years and have been very impressed with this hotel compared to other Holiday Inns Express I've stayed at. The staff have always been courteous, helpful and efficient. There is a restaurant which offers a small but excellent menu and the food has been excellent too. My dietary requirements were dealt with sympathetically and efficiently

My only complaint was the occasional noise in the room from traffic and water being run in neighbouring rooms during my last stay.

Will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room at the back, away from the busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We used this hotel for a one night stop making sure we got the special offer per night. The room is simple, clean and comfortable– for the price don't expect luxury.

The breakfast was more than expected but it does end early so be there well before 9am. (That's something they didn't mention anywhere.)

It's right off a major highway getting to it is convenient. It's still a driving distance from Canterbury central, but for the price you can't beat it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Harbledown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Upper Harbledown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.