We stayed here at the end of May, over the Bank Holiday weekend (Friday night to Monday morning).
Having recently visited a Holiday Inn Express in Nuneaton and being impressed with the hotel, I was really looking forward to this one, so it's all the more upsetting that I was disappointed in some aspects of our stay in Canterbury.
Firstly, we had requested a quiet room. Unfortunately, our room was as close to the A2 dual carriageway as you could get, and traffic noise was clearly audible in the room.
A day into our stay, I noticed some stains on the bedding which were unattractive. Whilst these were on the sides of the bedding, it gave us the impression that the bedding hadn’t been cleaned or changed in a while. We assumed that the sheets would be changed but when we checked the following day, they hadn’t – and in fact new stains had appeared on the top of the duvet. I have photos, but I won't post them here as I wouldn't want to put people off!
On the Saturday night, there was a large commotion which appeared to be outside our room, with significant shouting, around 10.30pm. For obvious reasons, we did not want to go outside the door. This went on for some time; I appreciate that it's not the hotel's fault but it was a frightening experience and members of the hotel team took some time to resolve the problem.
Additionally, we found the breakfast on one of the days to be a less than pleasurable experience. I appreciate that it was a busy bank holiday weekend but the floors were messy, there was a hair in the grapefruit on the Sunday morning (which completely put me off my breakfast) and it was difficult to get a table.
Finally, next to the hotel was a burnt out café, which isn't the hotel's fault, obviously, but it summed up the overall experience as being disappointing.
I would have brought these issues to the attention of the manager when we left but check-out was busy and I did not wish to hold up the queue, so simply accepted it and went.
I accept that this is a budget hotel, and it's quite smart with some decent customer service, but given some of the issues we had I'm afraid I probably wouldn't stay here again, with our excellent experience in Nuneaton only adding to the disappointment of this visit.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
We are all most concerned to read of your disappointment with your stay with us and offer you our sincere apologies for not having met your expectations on this visit.
There are no excuses for the poor standards of housekeeping you encountered and although we cannot identify which room you were in I have asked our Housekeeper to review your comments with her team.
I would like to reassure you that your experience on this occasion is not indicative of our normally very high standards and I do hope that you will relent, and return for another visit and allow us an opportunity to restore your confidence in us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.