We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and great for relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Altinkaya Holiday Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ozankoy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Altinkaya Holiday Resort
Save
You added Altinkaya Holiday Resort to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ozankoy - Girne, Ozankoy, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ozankoy
Somerset,UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great value and great for relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit in 2 years to the Altinkaya and I will definitely return, as do most of the guests.
Firstly, the staff here are so hard working and friendly and will go the extra mile for you.
I can't praise Stephanie on reception high enough, we had a request with the Tour Op for our return transfer and she chased them up and kept us posted each day....beyond her job role but we were very grateful for her help.
The staff on reception, the bar and in the restaurant again were all very helpful and friendly especially Rambo who helped when we had a few issues with our air con, he fixed it and he is only a member of the bar/restaurant team.
A new outdoor bar has opened this year which was really nice and encouraged people to sit, chat, drink and make new friends.
The pool was spotlessly clean at all times and the gardens immaculately looked after.
Our room was a bungalow to the left of the path on entrance to the hotel grounds, it was ideal,clean and had the most comfy beds.
The food was a little hit and miss, the cold meze starters was fab as I like that food, the main meal rarely changed from chicken, fish or meat balls but one night I didn't like either choice, but when I had to advise reception what i wanted Stephanie arranged an alternative without me having to ask. For what you pay for the evening meal it was fine and we always had a night or two out to have a change of scene and try local restaurants, but if you don't like taxis or walking then eat at the hotel!
Breakfast was plentiful.
The bar was reasonable and you now sign for your drinks to your room bill as opposed to just giving your room number. Serhan the barman was very friendly and had a good rapport with the guests.
My only moan would be about the Cats, the hotel feeds the cats in a specific area at the rear of the hotel daily so they aren't starving or ill looking, but some guests take it upon themselves to feed the cats in the outdoor terrace at breakfast and you can have 5 or 6 sat by a table, personally I can't stand cats and don't like having them around my feet when eating so made them go away, I feel the hotel could put signs up asking guests not to feed the cats in the terrace where food is eaten and maybe they will keep away, after all they don't starve. The harbour is a thirty minute stroll away but the pavements aren't great. There is a supermarket 5 minutes walk away and a few more shops, eateries and a bigger supermarket 10-15 minutes walk away.
The views of the mountains and the village of Bellapais,a ten minute drive away, are stunning.
Keep up the good work Altinkaya hotel I will definitely return, the hotel is in a great place to explore northern Cyprus!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    74
    45
    21
    6
See reviews for
36
114
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

just came back from a fantastic holiday yet again from the same resort last went there 2 years ago,
the hotel was in great condition,. the food was first class, great bbq on thursday night with live music worth the money spent, the new bar area was so outstanding with a great chocie of drinks, the staff was so helpful i needed help with getting out to see sights of the Girne area, was recommended to go and see the bellapais area, breath taking views, so near from the hotel, it was sad leaving as i was so looked after well, cannot wait to go back in october.
big thanks to all staff who made my visit so enjoyable

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just returned from 7 nights at this hotel, it was faultless . Okay the food was maybe not al'acarte but hey, for the price we paid, with free half board upgrade it was more than adequate .Breakfast was plentiful, staff were all very helpful without exception & nothing was to much trouble. The room we were allocated which they describe as a bungalow was perfect & spotless clean. All in all a great holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Arrived here for first holiday in Northern Cyprus. Great little place. Clean, helpful staff. Room cleaned often, beds changed after three days. Clean towels every day. Any probs dealt with promptly. Would certainly recommend to anyone. Tip: Hire a car from hire place across the road.....

Room Tip: Bungalows are fine. Double glazed windows keep noise of road to a minimum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was our first stay at the Altinkaya hotel and hopefully will not be our last. The staff were very helpful and could not do enough for us. The hotel room was a good size and was very clean. We were given lots of clean towels every day and the room was made up early in the day providing us with a lovely tidy room. This hotel is a real gem and good value for money. I would recommend this hotel to both families and couples as it offers a quality holiday to all it's guests.

Room Tip: The rooms over looking the pool and gardens are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sensatori hotel crete
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just returned from a 10day holiday here.We came 2years ago and was very disappointed,we decided to go back this year.Altinkaya you have made great improvements.We stayed in the hotel part which is nice,had a room at back facing the mountains very peacefull.We only had breakfast as we hire a car and get out and about.We always use Pacific car hire,find their cars very reliable and clean.There are some lovely restaurants around we have eaten in a good few.The staff are very nice always smiling.Melissa&Steph on reception are brilliant nothing is to much trouble.Golden Beach is a nice beach to lazy around with a snack bar for your drinks and snacks.This is my husband&I 5th visit to northern cyprus we never tire of it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our first visit to Cyprus. Had read many reports of the resort which did not appear favourable but not in our experience, everything and everyone made it a good week for us. Mini bus pickup from the airport, no problems. We had signed up for a bungalow but got an upgrade to the hotel. The room had a double bed so we asked for a change to twin beds, done in minutes. Excellent room, cleaned daily. Breakfast and evening meal was good with a choice of hot or cold starter. We took three tours, excellent tour guides and then a taxi to the local Abbey on our last day. There are no lifts but the staff move your luggage. One special mention to one of the young male members of staff who spotted that I was billed for a G and T in my absence, which should have gone to our neighbours with whom my wife shared a drink. It shows that the staff get to know you. Well done.
So we can recommend this resort, personal care and service that you get with a smaller resort.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have a nice view of the mountains. The rooms at the front look out on to the dinin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ozankoy
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#5 of 25 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,517 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Sempati
Hotel Sempati
#6 of 7 in Lapta
4.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#9 of 25 in Kyrenia
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rocks Hotel Casino
Rocks Hotel Casino
#2 of 25 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellapais Monastery Village
1.2 mi away
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
#1 of 3 in Agios Georgios
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altinkaya Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altinkaya Holiday Resort

Address: Ozankoy - Girne, Ozankoy, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Ozankoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ozankoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Altinkaya Holiday Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Also Known As:
Altinkaya Holiday Village Hotel Karakoumi
Altinkaya Holiday Village Kyrenia
Altinkaya Holiday Village Hotel Kyrenia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altinkaya Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.