We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful quiet accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boronia Lodge Burwood

Boronia Lodge Burwood
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boronia Lodge Burwood
Save
You added Boronia Lodge Burwood to your Saves list
7 Boronia Avenue, Burwood, New South Wales 2134, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Burwood B&B and Inns
Alstonville, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful quiet accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We booked online via Wotif - better rates if you book direct. We were arriving later than expected and the Manager was very helpful - contacted us to arrange key etc. Room was beautifully presented - homely and clean and so quiet for a property close to the city. Comfortable bed, free WiFi, breakfast supplies (cereal and milk), ground coffee & plunger (bonus). Will recommend to all. Thank You

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
9
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Despite the beautiful photo's. Don't be fooled, the family room which was allocated to us had enormous cracks of the walls, roof and doors. All cutlery were disgusting. It was not washed. The fan was broken, the TV did not work. It was a nightmare.
All, please don't waste your money at this place. For the rate we payed we could of stayed at a 4 star hotel.
We thought this lodge would be something different. I assure you it was different, it is the worst accommodation we have stayed at.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maddy123123, Manager at Boronia Lodge Burwood, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, albeit certainly not the type of review that Boronia Lodge is used to. We wholeheartedly refute your comments regarding our service, cleanliness, and room amenities. Boronia Lodge is constantly undertaking refurbishment of rooms to ensure that our guests have a comfortable stay in this beautiful old period home. Previous reviews from very satisfied customers hopefully will right the injustice you have done this grand old lady.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Had to search for a motel recently due to a major event in Sydney meaning most accommodation was booked out. My search was well worth the effort when I fund this lovely place. Buwrood is only 10 minutes from the city (on express train) and the lodge is a 10 minute walk from the station. The house is a lovely old building full of charm and character. Jen, the manager was very accommodating, moving me to a quiet room after I mentioned that I was a light sleeper. It is more like being in a friends bedroom than a motel room.
There was milk and cereal in the room for brekky, although there was only full cream milk not skim so I skipped brekky.
The bathroom was a bit on the tiny side, but as I was staying by myself it wasnt an issue.
I stayed in Room 12, which wasn't air conditioned, again this wasnt an issue as the weather was fine, however, if you were staying in the warm weather, you might like to ask for one of the air conditioned rooms as due to the style of the windows, they dont have screens to keep bugs out at night.
I would definitely recommend this motel and if I were attending an event at Olympic Park, Homebush this would be my choice of accommodation. Thank you Jen for a wonderful stay :)

Room Tip: If the weather is warm, ask for an air conditioned room; windows can be opened but have no screens t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were staying overnight Saturday night to attend the football at ANZ Stadium. We arrived around 1.00 pm and checked in, then walked to the station (only a few hundred metres) and caught the train into Sydney. Later in the afternoon we caught the train back out, only problem was that not many trains seem to stop at Burwood, so we ended up getting off at the station after and catching a taxi back to Burwood. Later we caught the train to Strathfield and changed to an express to Olympic Park. After the game we caught the train to Lidcome and then changed and got off at Burwood and walked back to Boronia Lodge, which was pretty easy. The room was nice and clean and had everything that we needed. It had a small kitchenette and bathroom and the bed was very comfy. We had a good night's sleep until the alarm went off at 6.00 am. We were able to park the car off the street and left very early on Sunday morning. Cereal was included for breakfast. Great value and a good location, I would highly recommend Boronia Lodge whether you are attending an event at Olympic Park, or if you want to commute into Sydney it is much cheaper than staying in the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a great boutique hotel. The most comfortable sleep ever. Our hostess was very friendly and helpful. The room was great , great ensuite, and kitchenette. Lots of hanging space in wardrobe. We will definitely be staying again. Quiet street close to Westfield mall and train station. Best location. Overall great stay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Boronia Hotel is located in a very peaceful street. A very short walk to the train station and a Westfield Shopping Centre. My husband and I (both in our 50's), felt both comfortable and relaxed on entering this beautiful old house. Our bed (double) was the most comfortable I have ever slept in re hotel accommodation (we travel overseas on a regular basis). The en-suite was quite spacious and very clean. Our host 'Jennifer' was very helpful in our reservation booking and also on meet and greet. On check out we told Jennifer we would definitely be back again when we were next in Sydney.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst NSW
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed hre again on a recent trip to Sydney for concerts. The booking process was seamless, and the whole experience, wonderful. Not a standard hotel, and not a B&B, but rather a unique pleasant, very comfortable, welcoming accommodation option, located in a central Sydney aea (Greater Sydney, not the CBD) 10 minute drive from downtown. Short 10 minute, comfortable, flat stroll into Burwood main street and shopping centre.

Stayed in an ensuite twin room, on fhe front verandah, and were very comfortable, with a mini kitchennette consisting of a bar fridge, microwave, kettle, coffee, tea, cereal, and plunger coffee! There in a full size kitchen in the building also, as this establishment is a converted, beautiful old home in a quiet, safe, leafy street.

We'll be back... what more can I say!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boronia Lodge Burwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boronia Lodge Burwood

Address: 7 Boronia Avenue, Burwood, New South Wales 2134, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Burwood
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Burwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boronia Lodge Burwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.