We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Escape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Novotel Vines Resort Swan Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Novotel Vines Resort Swan Valley to your Saves list
The Novotel Vines Resort Swan Valley
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Verdelho Dr, The Vines, Swan, Western Australia 6069, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Vines
Perth
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Weekend Escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed in the apartment area of the Novotel with a group of 13. We shared 3 units between us. Each unit is 2 storey with the 3 bedrooms upstairs. The main bedroom has its own ensuite. The upstairs bathroom has the shower over the bath plus a toilet. An extra toilet and wash basin is on the ground floor near the entrance. The ground floor has a large and well equipped kitchen, dining table in a separate dining area and lounge suite - all open plan. I believe the apartments are owned by individuals. Each of the 3 units were furnished differently. One of the units has good quality furnishings and appliances while the 3rd apartment has only plastic appliances and an older style TV. The bedrooms in this apartment did not have any bedside lights and only one light in the lounge area. It would be worth viewing an apartment before booking or asking what the unit contains. The area was quiet and we enjoyed a morning walk by the golf course each morning. We were welcomed into the Vines hotel for breakfast each morning. The main reception and facilities are well presented. We had dinner at the Vines restaurant on the first evening. Some of the group received only a tiny serve of food and left still hungry. I ordered the goat which came in a dish with pasta and left me feeling satisfied. We shared desserts and bottles of wine. The restaurant is fine dining and expense is expected with fine dining service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VinesResort, Manager at The Novotel Vines Resort Swan Valley, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent large booking in August and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Each apartment does differ in furnishings so if you have any questions about each individual apartment, please speak to our reservations team. If you have a favourite apartment, simply request this apartment for your next stay and we will do our best to book you into it.

We have also taken your comments about the size of your dinner meals to our team of chefs to ensure consistency with all meals for the future.

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed the tranquility of the golf course with a morning walk and we look forward to seeing you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    185
    140
    59
    51
See reviews for
128
237
18
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Hotel is located at a beautiful vineyard area with golf courses around it. The swimming pool at the hotel is lovely, room and toilet are clean.

It's a shame that they don't provide free wifi in the room. Also the water runs very slow in the shower it too me ages to wash my hair in the shower!

I will stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VinesResort, Manager at The Novotel Vines Resort Swan Valley, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
HI Daisy & Jack,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Trip Advisor.

We value all feedback and it is great to hear that you loved your stay with us - it is a very relaxing location in the Valley!
We will investigate the comments about the water pressure with our maintenance team so thank you for making us aware of it.

We look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at this resort utilising Accor Vacation Club accomodation, however we did eat in Muscats Restaurant. The restaurant staff were friendly and food was great. We enjoyed the Saturday night option of buffet for entree and dessert and a la carte for mains. Good value and the buffet was kept topped up. The resort grounds were clean, tidy and well maintained, with a resident mob of kangaroos hanging out on the golf course. The only thing I would warn others staying here is that the resort is at the northern end of the Swan Valley highway, very close to where it joins the Great Northern Road, so is quite some distance from Perth, or even Guildford or Midland. There are no shops or restaurants close to the resort, however there is a large shopping complex within a new housing development about 10 minutes drive from the resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VinesResort, Manager at The Novotel Vines Resort Swan Valley, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
HI Christine,

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review your visit on Trip Advisor.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and dining in Muscats restaurant. The Saturday night entree & dessert buffet is a very popular option for our guests!

We are located 35 mins from Perth city but as you mentioned Ellenbrook shopping centre is only a short drive from the Resort.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I was worried staying for the night because some of the reviews were a bit off putting, but when we got there the reception staff were lovely and helpfully, the rooms were clean and well laid out, we were on the ground floor in a spa unit over looking the pool, we walked around the grounds and enjoyed the scenery, we had the steak sandwich for dinner, in room service and was delivered quickly and was very tasty the steak was well cooked, then we headed to Muscats to listen to the Jazz, was nice to have a Chivers Regal on ice and relax, Sunday we had the Buffet breakfast that was yummy, and went till 11 so you could have it after you left the room, all in all we had a fantastic nitghts stay in comfy beds with big fluffy pillows, we would defiately god back, thanks for making my 14 th anniversary enjoyable :)

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VinesResort, Manager at The Novotel Vines Resort Swan Valley, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hi Sharon,

Thank you for your amazing review of your recent stay at Novotel Vines Resort.

We appreciate you taking the time to let everyone know on Trip Advisor and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your meals, room and the jazz!

Happy anniversary from all of us at the Resort and we look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed overnight with two other friends. Looks impressive when you drive up, but what a disappointment when you get inside. It's tired, outdated and needs complete renovation. It's self-rated as a 5 star but I'd struggle to give it 2 stars. Not sure where the 5 star comes from. The first room given to us stunk of cigarette smoke so they moved us. Second room was much better and overlooked the pool area. Went for dinner in Muscats Restaurant and were told that it was at least an hour wait but we could go to the cafe. Opted for the cafe and wish we hadn't. Tried to place an order and were told by the bar staff that the kitchen was busy and the chef stressed so wouldn't take our order for 15 mins and could we come back. Eventually we were able to order and the food served to us was terrible. What I can only describe as frozen pizza which had clearly been put into a high temperature oven and burnt around the edges but completely uncooked in the middle. The chips were clearly the scrapings from the bottom of the frozen bag we struggled to find a whole one. When the staff came to clear away the food, it was obvious that we hadn't enjoyed it because it had all been left. When we commented on that we were not happy, we got no response and she walked away. Breakfast was not much better - anemic looking bacon and sausages, scrambled eggs which were sloppy and cold, seriously, would have been better going to the local McDonalds. I have sent emails to the hotel and asked for their response, but five days later no-one has replied. That says it all. I will never ever stay at this 1 star hotel again. Nor would I recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Novotel Vines Resort Swan Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Novotel Vines Resort Swan Valley

Address: Verdelho Dr, The Vines, Swan, Western Australia 6069, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Swan > The Vines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Vines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Novotel Vines Resort Swan Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Vines Resort Swan Valley is in Western Australia's oldest wine growing region, just 35 minutes from Perth city centre. The resort features 103 rooms, 53 apartments, 2 restaurants, 2 bars, a swimming pool, spa, gym, tennis and squash courts. There is also a 36 hole championship golf course and conference facilities for up to 260 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Novotel Vines Resort Swan Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Swan Valley The Vines Hotel The Vines
Novotel Hotel Perth
Novotel Resort Perth
Novotel Perth
The Novotel Vines Resort Swan Valley The Vines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Novotel Vines Resort Swan Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.