We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just good apartment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines to your Saves list
The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   79 Hermitage Drive | Swan Valley, The Vines, Swan, Western Australia 6069, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure The Vines, Accor Vacation Club Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Jakarta
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Just good apartment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

We hired a car, otherwise it will be difficult to go to city, because it is at the north of swan valley (north of Perth). The place will be the best for golfer, as the golf course is huge. Near the apartment, there are kangoroos, small vine yard, ducks which we can feel it was a good place to stay.

The checkin and checkout processes were very quick and efficient.

The apartment provides many amenities including jacuzzi, oven, washing machine, dryer, microwave etc.
Unfortunely the oven did not worked well and the sofa bed was not flat.

The internet was not free, but there was a computer at the lobby of novotel that can be used.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Sutjipto,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are sorry to hear that the oven was not functioning properly and that you had problems with the sofa bed. We shall have the maintenance team check them all.
Again, we thank you and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    45
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
33
46
12
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Torquay
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We booked these apartments to stay in for 8 nights after we moved out of our home, before returning to the UK for good! It was the best priced accommodation around, and slightly discounted with our Accor membership....but we were not disappointed at all! Quite the opposite. We had a lovely stay, with a clean, bright and well equipped apartment. The apartments are situated alongside the hotel so you have the same access, facilities and location as hotel guests. Ok, I've seen a few of the other reviews about bugs on the balcony. Yes there were a few spiders webs tucked in corners, with tiny spiders minding their own business, but this is Australia....what do you expect!?....maybe I would have cared if they were in my bedroom! All of the staff were very friendly and helpful, there was a very laid back atmosphere, with a mixture of business, leisure and pleasure all taking place alongside each other, without interfering with the other. I'm not in to golf myself, but quite enjoyed watching from my balcony as the buggies came past....we had a hole right outside our balcony. We also saw Kangaroos on many mornings/afternoon, just meters from our balcony, feeding on the course. Some reviews mention being far from reception/pool. It is not true in terms of being on foot. By foot it is a 3 min walk to Novotel hotel reception/pool, by car it is a 3-5 min drive because there is a golf course that the road has to go around. Pool and spa area were relaxing and always had a friendly maintenance person, cleaning and maintaining area. All the services of the Novotel Hotel were available to us, as Grand Mecure residents and we were given what appeared to be the same level of service for any facility we used. I think only room service was not available at the GM apartments. The location is in the peaceful swan valley area with lots of vineyards and breweries to eat and drink at within 10-15 min drive, about 30-40 mins from Perth City Centre, exactly what we were looking for! It is a bush location, not beach, but you could still visit beaches from here if you are happy to drive 30-40 mins each way...they are worth it! Not sure what else I can say....oh good selection of good food in restaurant and bar! We stayed one night in the hotel afterwards and that was just as good, although not quite as modern, but overlooking the pool made up for it!

Room Tip: Off ground apartment gave us an elevated view of the golf course. But there was no lift. We had a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear danitq2,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to read that you last week in Australia such a success. We hope that your journey back to the UK was a smooth and safe one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsborough, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Still a spacious resort, nice gardens, reasonable appearance, good size rooms. Service good, cleaners a marvel but that's it! Look closer & worn through carpets, peeling wallpaper decor, check outdoor chairs before you sit , bits falling of chipboard furniture, sagging bed..Price does not reflect standard of rooms, however is the only one on north side of city! Not much choice. Happy to stay though because of that & cleanliness inside fine. Hadn't expected the sagging bed & is the first one we've come across here (stayed a few times when travelling north, because of location), will check before unpack next time. Food, dinner & breakfast worse than any of the local service stations! Koi in garden 'stream' very happy, many over 18"!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear CEK284,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at The Sebel Swan Valley The Vines. We are sorry that you had cause for disappointment. The refurbishment of these apartments is scheduled for later in 2014 and will address the concerns you have raised. Your feedback regarding the restaurant has been passed on to the General Manager of the Novotel. Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Be aware that when you book for the Grand Mecure unless you read your itinery - ALL signs point to the Novotel.. If you use your GPS it will take you to the back of the hotel where there is NO SIGNAGE at all to let you know how to get to reception.
Customer service was no existant ( we run our our accommodation business in the south west).
Upon checking in *and rather flustered due to the maze we had to walk through aswell as running late (poor signage) to get ready for a wedding we were told that the wedding we were attending wasnt here. The lady said she'd not heard of that name, without even checking. The wedding was there and we told by a friend after bumping into him.

ROOMS... at $280, with rusted shower rails, rusted windows etc... no thanks. but overlooked the golf course.

Suggested to the lady in the morning when checking out that if there are a number of people that dont have their itinery handy and dont know that all the signs pointing to the Novotel also means Grand Mecure Accor then perhaps more signage would be great.
I was told that they expect people to read their itineries. A simple, we'll make note of that was suffiecient.
All in all the ladies at the front desk let this review down.. Room was the only one available and at that price, wouldnt be staying again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear WBCC,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure The Vines. We are so sorry to read of your disappointment. So that we can further address this issue we would appreciate if you could call our Front Office Manager, Tony May, on 08 9297 3000, so that he can address your concerns.
We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have stayed in these apartment 3 times previously and each time is perfect 'for what we need'! Need to remember that - if you want to visit attractions near the city and anything south of the CBD then this is a long way out but if you are planning on wining and dining in and around the Swan Valley (and why wouldn't you!!!) then these apartments are great. Amenities everything you need, location 'around the back' of the hotel but once you've worked that out, it's great. Lots of roos around late afternoon which are always fun to watch - for overseas visitors especially I guess. Been 3 times and we'll be back - we are good Swan Valley visitors though!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear kaybee57,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure The Vines after your third stay! It is always lovely to hear from our repeat guests. We are so pleased that you continue to enjoy these great apartments and beautiful area.
Again, many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. The location is pleasant though rather removed from everything except the golf course - long drive into Perth and very little else in the area which seemed to consist entirely of ever mushrooming suburbs. The apartment was lovely, large, well appointed and clean, with fully equipped kitchen, ensuites to each bedroom and a very large lounge area opening onto a small balcony looking across the golf course. Only drawback with the accommodation was that the entry to each apartment block is a heavy security door which clangs loudly whenever anyone goes through it, so try to get an apartment away from the entrance.

There is no in-house reception for these apartments. Reception, as mentioned by others, is via the resort next door, which has a different address. Make sure you know exactly where you need to go, because on a dark, rainy night it's easy to miss the signs and if you end up at the apartments, while it is possible to walk through the resort to reception, you will need to leave a trail of crumbs so as not to get lost on the way back. Furthermore, confirmation of bookings has a contact number which is nothing to do with the complex or the resort, but is apparently an Accor call centre and is a Queensland number, so if you ring at after 3pm you will get a recorded message telling you that the lines are only manned during business hours Mon-Fri and if you leave a message they will get back to you next working day (after a few moments of utter fury you twig to the fact that they are on Queensland time!). The attitude to any gripes at the resort reception is sympathetic but "Nothing to do with us, completely different company, we just do the check in". Given all this I'm not sure how you would fare if there was a major problem with the apartments. We were told at reception that the apartments are about to be re-badged as Sebel, though whether this will make a difference is another matter.

So in the end the apartments excellent, administration poor, leaving the property as average and not a place to hurry back to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not near the entrance door. Make sure you are well aware of the location of recepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear SMTas,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure The Vines. We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with the management of these apartments and for not being able to get in touch with us when you needed to. The Accor Vacation Club head office is based in Robina, Queensland, however there should have been a local number on your confirmation. We apologise for this not being on your confirmation. Yes these apartments will be rebranded as The Sebel Swan Valley The Vines in December this year. You are correct in saying that this will not change the management, although there has been a recent change in personnel which we are confident will ensure a quality service to all guests. Again, we apologise for the disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines

Address: 79 Hermitage Drive | Swan Valley, The Vines, Swan, Western Australia 6069, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure The Vines, Accor Vacation Club Apartments)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Swan > The Vines
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in The Vines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and ACCOR so you can book your The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Swan Valley The Vines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.