We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply beautiful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Egilsen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Egilsen to your Saves list
Hotel Egilsen
Adalgata 2, Stykkisholmur 340, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stykkisholmur
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I've stayed in many hotels over the years, but this was one of the nicest places I've ever been in. The decor is understated but gorgeous, with stylish and thoughtful touches everywhere you look. Ultra-modern bath with top-notch toiletries, comfy bed with lovely linens, very helpful, friendly and accommodating staff -- everything you could ask for and more. At breakfast you are brought a fresh fruit smoothie and a platter of smoked salmon with accompaniments, and that's just for starters!

I highly recommend this beautiful little hotel in a beautiful little town. If you're taking the ferry to the north fjords, spend a night or two here -- you'll love it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    27
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
17
74
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a true boutique hotel, with every last detail considered and the very best quality throughout. It was a very welcome change after a few nights in a grotty apartment in the north! I have stayed in a few boutique hotels, but this has the most character and attention to detail I've ever seen.

Our room was beautifully decorated, gorgeous harbour view and super-comfortable bed. The loan iPad was a nice change to a TV. The breakfast is well worth every penny, it was delicious with cereal, yoghurt, home-made jams, scrambled eggs, smoked salmon, fruit, home-made bread.

I didn't want to go to sleep as the room was so nice. Then I didn't want to wake up because the bed was so comfy. The only negative is that we were only there for one night, I'd have loved to stay on a bit longer.

We stayed here at the end of our trip and after a long, difficult drive (if you're coming from Akureyri, don't take the short cut, it's km after km of gravel road!) and a lot of hours on the road it was such a lovely place to relax. It's about a minute to the harbour and a few minutes to the top of the peak opposite, which has gorgeous views out to sea.

This would make a lovely romantic break too.

Just lovely!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Being at Hotel Egilsen is like staying with your most chic friend that loves to have dinner parties. We were so well taken care of. The owner, Greta has faultless taste and has chosen every single detail with great care. There are original and commissioned artworks throughout, designer furniture, and art and photography books stacked everywhere. The breakfast we had there was the most elaborate (extra, but modestly priced and so so worth it) I have ever had in any hotel and it was made entirely on our behalf. I am vegan and Greta not only made me a beautiful, nearly endless breakfast, but arranged for me to have an off menu meal at the restaurant across the street as well. Then she called the artist who made all of the ceramics for the hotel and arranged for us to visit her studio. Then she called the caretaker of Roni Horn's Library of Waters and arranged for us to have a private viewing of the project even though it was closed that day. She was amazing! It's just a tiny little hotel in a tiny little town, but it was one of the nicest experiences we've ever had traveling. We stayed at 101 Hotel, Hotel Budir and the Blue Lagoon Clinic on this trip and Hotel Egilsen was definitely the most special. I think it is Iceland's best hotel, especially if you are interested in art, design and architecture. Stykkisholmur is a super cool little town with a great public pool, distinctive architecture and history, and a beautiful harbor and light house atop a stone outcropping you can climb. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room that had a view of the Library of Water and of the harbor on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishpon, Israel
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were planned to stay at Banier & Braud up the hill, another excellent guesthouse of the same owner, but offered to stay at Hotel Egilsen. The hotel is indeed the second house built in the charming fishing village (or little city) of Stykkisholmur, and had been recently compltely renovated, without any harm to its most lovely external construction, with the red-painted walls and white-framed windows. Rooms are spacious, and the bathrooms are well equipped with very comfortable and modern showers and basins. The hotel is beautifully located close to the quaint harbor , and the best restaurants are conveniently located few steps from it. When in Stykkisholmur this would definitely be our place to stay. Tips: (A) Don't miss the climb (relatively easy) to the rock opposite the harbor, both for the sunset, and mainly for the sunrise. (B) The hotel offers free parking near the harbor. (C) Ask for the room with harbor views

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Superb remodel of a historic building with a prime location right near the harbor. Very modern bathrooms, comfortable mattresses, and free wifi or an ipad. So many little details to note: the china and the blankets were specially made for the hotel. Double curtains for keeping out the 3am sunlight. Interesting books. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was not included in the price, but was absolutely excellent, especially Greta's home made bread. A bit more expensive than other options, but worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is the best place in town, I guess, situated close to the harbor. The rooms is a bit small for 3 persons, but OK ! The breakfast was excellent with fresh homedmade bread, cereals, smoked salomon and eggs prepared as you like.
I would recommend this hotel if You are planning travelling around Iceland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I did not stay in this hotel but I found them exceptionally gracious when I cancelled my booking for a one night stay. This has left a lasting impression and I have no doubt that a stay at this hotel will be an indelibly pleasant one.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Egilsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Egilsen

Address: Adalgata 2, Stykkisholmur 340, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > West Region > Stykkisholmur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stykkisholmur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small and intimate 10 bedroom boutique hotel in a historic house, at the heart of Stykkisholmur, filled with local stories, good times and sweet dreams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Egilsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Egilsen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.