We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice piece of modern Icelandic church architecture” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stykkisholmskirkja

Stykkisholmskirkja
Borgarbraut, Stykkisholmur, Iceland
438 1560
Improve this listing
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
Attraction details
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“nice piece of modern Icelandic church architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

worth visiting not just due to unusual (for churches) shapes and outfits, but also for the view over the town and harbour.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

New church. Nice tomsee that in Iceland they still build them. Back home we don't know what to do with them anymore.
Even the organ was brand new.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kopavogur, Iceland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful church with wonderful organ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I used the opportunity to go to a really great organ concert in the Stykkisholms church. The church is even more beautiful when you get closer. It is a landmark of Stykkisholmur both from sea and land. Around 300 people can sit in the church which is unusually shaped It has a beautiful and peaceful the altar piece painted by Icelandic painter Kristín Gunnlaugsdóttir which shows Maria carrying the child Jesus. The church is well known for its fine acoustics and musical events are on regular basis. There is a brand new Klais church organ with 22 stops. They often have organ concerts in the summer time. I did not attend a service there, but the church is beautiful.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishpon, Israel
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Go for the unusual site and views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Stykkishulmskirkja is one of the unusual churches you may find in Iceland, and a one you can't avoid when getting to this lovely city. Tips: (A) Don't estimate it from a far. Get close and enjoy the peculiar design. (B) Go there both early in the morning for sunrise, and also for sunset. (C) Check when services are scheduled, the acoustic in very interesting. (D) Don't miss a visit to the seamen monument at the harbor.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
87 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
“Beautiful church and famous organ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

When planning our trip to Iceland I found this lovelylooking church and learnt about their famous organ. I started to find out more about the organ builder from Germany. After that I even more wanted to visit this church. But was there a service that day? We chose a Sunday to be sure. Then we just had to find out the time for the service that day. There is a home page, but it does not tell such things as service times. I really tried to find out! In the end I wrote to the organ builder in Germany for help. Very helpful I recieved some links and addresses. I also wrote to information centres, which did not help.

Here is some information if you are searching like I was:
Phone number to the church : +354 438 1560
Email address to the pastor is: gunnareir@simnet.is
Or try this: kirkjan@kirkjan.is
All this information was from Marketing & Visit Iceland

Before this I got other valuable information which told me that there was NO SERVICE that Sunday and no organ concerts either. (There were some brass bands practicing, so we could at least enter the church.)

We were of course very disappointed! But maybe you are more lucky. Now you can at least find out if there is something going on in this church. Good luck!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stykkisholmskirkja also viewed

Stykkisholmur, West Region
Stykkisholmur, West Region
 
Stykkisholmur, West Region
 

Been to Stykkisholmskirkja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stykkisholmskirkja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.