We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Clean Hotel, Nice Owner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Breidafjordur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stykkisholmur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Breidafjordur
Save
You added Hotel Breidafjordur to your Saves list
Aoalgotu 8, Stykkisholmur IS-340, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Stykkisholmur
CORK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Clean Hotel, Nice Owner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed for one night and arrived were greeted by a nice friendly lady called Sara, the room had our extra bed pre made up and was downstairs, making it silent and it was a nice big room, when i told Sara were leaving early before breakfast by a few hours she wanted to leave some cereal out for us or make us some sandwiches, a lovely nice friendly gesture and its nice to see some goodwill still exists. Larger establishments with more stars were much less inviting and hospitable. The Hotel is right next to at least three choices of restaraunt.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
7
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed in hótel breiðafjörður in June 2012 for two weeks. The owners are very friendly and made us feel very welcome. They speak excellent English and gave us plenty of useful information about the local area and things to see and do.

Our room was simple, clean and the bed was super comfortable with a proper duvet. The wifi did not reach our room, so when we needed internet we sat on the lovely comunal balcony. There aren't any blackout blinds, so a sleep mask might be needed if you struggle to sleep with light.

Breakfast was a good selection of cereals, cheese, bread, boiled eggs, meats, fruits, jams, teas and good strong coffee. There was also the occasional home baked fruit loaf or pancakes as a treat.

We found hótel breiðafjörður a really great hub from which to explore and we will be back!

Room Tip: Wifi does not reach all rooms so it wifi is important, ask the owners if they can chose a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed at the end of August 2012 and the light-through-the-curtain issue had still not been solved. If light bothers your sleep, bring eye shades.

Our room was in the basement and was bigger than most rooms we had in Iceland. There was a nice desk to write on. The room was quiet and the bed was comfortable. WiFi did not reach our room.

Easy walk to the harbor and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Recent stay for two nights July14 &15. Within easy walking of the wharf for boat tour and restaurants. Rooms are basic, bathroom was small and no "black out" curtains. No TV in rooms but was told there is one in a general public area but it was broken. However, the staff & owner are very friendly and helpful as they accommodated our request to have some extra sheets to cover the window. Breakfast included was the standard as offered throughout Iceland - hard boiled egss, cold cuts, cold cereal, toast, bread, tomatoes, sliced cheese. fruit, pancakes, yogurt, milk, juice and coffee/tea. A clean, friendly place to stay if you just need a bed for the night and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I wasn't overwhelmed by the Hótel Breiđafjőrđur, mainly because there were no blinds on the windows and the furniture was cheap, but the woman running the place was nice. She even made some pancakes and homemade jam for the breakfast buffet, a nice addition to the standard fare.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is the most basic of hotels. The rooms are spotless but generic and there is little in the way of lobby or dining area. In truth, this describes the bulk of accommodations when one travels the Ring Road. The problem with this property is that management needs to pay a bit more attention to the details. For one, the shades do not block the evening sun, as they do in most hotels. Also, there was no soap provided in the bathrooms. These are basics that any hotel shouldn't miss.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night, after arriving from the ferry from Brjánslaekur. We had a sunny corner room, with very light curtains (which was less convenient when trying to sleep as it stayed light all night), a little desk and small bathroom. Breakfast was quite limited, including the cafeteria room where it was served; very small tables and we had too literarly squeeze ourselves between the chair and table.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Breidafjordur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breidafjordur

Address: Aoalgotu 8, Stykkisholmur IS-340, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Stykkisholmur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Stykkisholmur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 192

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Breidafjordur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.