We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasteful fish plates” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Narfeyrarstofa

Narfeyrarstofa
Adalgata 3, Stykkisholmur 340, Iceland
438-1119
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Milan, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tasteful fish plates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We tried soup+fish and cod with basil and barley. Both tasty and well prepared. Average prices (for Iceland).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    72
    54
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good food, nice place, but service needs improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We ate here three times during our stay in Stykkisholmur.

The location is beautiful: nice old wooden building with an elegant, authentic atmosphere.

The restaurant offers mainly seafood and burgers, but provides a few vegetarian options (two mains and one salad as a starter).

We had the salad with mozzarella and tomatoes (very delicious!), the vegetarian dish of the day (good, but not enough and too expensive with 3600 ISK), the vegetarian pasta which was expected to be mushrooms & cream, but then came as mixed vegetables & cream and was herewith identical with the pasta served with the vegetarian dish of the day (tasted really very good, but not what we ordered). Good selection of red wines.

The staff is very friendly and tries its best, but all of them seem to be untrained in service. Every time our glasses were so dirty we could not use them and had to ask for an exchange, bread was missing every time.

To summarize our impression: Prices are high and service needs improvement. But all in all the best location to eat in town, tasteful food and a very nice place to sit and dine. We would come back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good and pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The beautiful renovated wooden house is an eye candy, and the kitchen seems quite professional. It's a good idea to walk down to the harbour after dinner, and watch the wonderful summer sunset from the hill above it (the one with the lighthouse on it).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best Meal we had in Iceland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was SUCH a great experience for my boyfriend and I in the harbor town of Stykkisholmur. Not only was it our best meal in all of Iceland, it was truly one of the best meals I've EVER had. Even the Icelandic butter they served with the bread was to die for! Our waitress was charming, friendly, helpful, prompt and so sweet! The cod we both had tasted like it was just caught (which, I'm sure in Iceland, happens a LOT), and was expertly prepared (no bones!) and seasoned well. It came with a small salad, but we both also ordered another salad with fresh mozzarella that was SO tasty as well (pics are attached). We (again) both ordered the same dessert which was a trio of ice creams: vanilla, coffee and caramel. All were delicious (and in my opinion, especially the caramel). It's not inexpensive, but it is worth every ISK! We sat downstairs in the very charming dining area, but if you can, go upstairs (even for just a look afterwards like we did)...it's even MORE quaint! Take a trip here and enjoy this most excellent restaurant! You will NOT be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent freshly prepared meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

A cozy restaurant near the port in Stykkisholmur. The atmosphere was one of mature bikers, families and tourists. Everyone seemed to be enjoying their meal and the atmosphere. There are not a lot of choices for eating in town and prices are on the higher side, as in many sit-down restaurants in Iceland. We had a simple yet filling meal and enjoyed the fresh ingredients. The bread and fresh butter were excellent. The dessert choices were very tasty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Narfeyrarstofa also viewed

Stykkisholmur, West Region
Stykkisholmur, West Region
 
Grundarfjorour, West Region
Grundarfjorour, West Region
 

Been to Narfeyrarstofa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Narfeyrarstofa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.