We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious lamb and white beer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Narfeyrarstofa

Narfeyrarstofa
Adalgata 3, Stykkisholmur 340, Iceland
354 4381119
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Delicious lamb and white beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the three restaurants in Stykkisholmur. Since it was full inside and we hadn't reserved a table in advance, the waiters were so kind to let us have dinner on the small terrace at sunset. It was a bit cold, but the food was so good that it was worth it!

I'd especially recommend the lamb and the local white beer (both sold at an honest price), but also mussels are supposed to be a delicacy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    73
    18
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The salad and the soup that I had were simply great. My table mates had some of the most delicious desserts ever. The ambiance was good. The interior was cozy. It felt like I was dining at my grandmother's house. The only downside to the meal was the waitstaff. The servers did not make eye contact and were not very helpful at accommodating changes to the menu. The restaurant was full and there were not enough servers. We had to wait too long for our food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad service but the food is worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The service has several issues, the servers need proper training. The Klofningur sampler and the fish soup I had where delicious. The bathroom similiar to what you'd expect in a gas station.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

it was a nice quaint atmosphere- very polite service. food was good- had the seafood soup about 1400ISK. very fresh. very relaxed atmosphere. right on the water. price wise- decent prices for Icelandic standards. would recommend it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fine dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Fantastic fresh fish dishes, Scallops were melt in your mouth delicious. Fancy dishes as well as simple mussels and frites.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Narfeyrarstofa also viewed

Stykkisholmur, West Region
Stykkisholmur, West Region
 
Stykkisholmur, West Region
Stykkisholmur, West Region
 

Been to Narfeyrarstofa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Narfeyrarstofa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.