We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lundi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lundi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Lundi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vikurbraut 24a - 26, Vik 870 , Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Vik
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here in early October. Due to the weather we had to stay an extra night and the hotel staff were very helpful in helping arrange this with minimal notice. As with most places in Iceland, English was spoken to a high standard. The hotel is located right in the town, a few minutes from the beach. The rooms are not huge or fancy but are very comfortable and clean. A program of refurbishment is clearly underway and they seem to be doing a good job (note this did not disrupt our stay at all). I would recommend eating in the restaurant, the food was delicious! Breakfast was also very good. Vik itself is a nice small town, very strategically located along the southern coast. It would have been nice to stay there longer!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    25
    6
    5
See reviews for
9
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

a good hotel, renovated rooms but with charm of the old good times. The owners are a very nice and helpful people, wiling to make your stay happy. They are doing renovation at the moment, so in the next summer will be a nice terrace to chill out. Great food and the best of all is the nice and very well educate slovakian lady who take care of us during the dinner. I recommend this hotel in vik. Very near to the black sand beach, supermarket, bank and gas station.

Room Tip: ask for the new and renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egilsstadir, Iceland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed there for a night a couple of days ago and i was not disapointed with anything. The place was clean and the bed comfortable. I also ate at their restaurant where i had the lamb meat soup, which was really good

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We rolled into Vik in the dark on Thanksgiving week with no booking (one of those in the moment type vacations). We heard about Hotel Edda from Trip Advisor and our travel book but they were closed. Turned out Hotel Lundi/Hotel Puffin was the only hotel open. Seemed like we were in the newer section of the hotel. Very modern/Scandanavian feel. The room was lovely although a bit warm with no apparent heat source to adjust. The evening staff (I think the owner) was very nice and the morning staff (a young man) was very helpful as far as looking up the weather for us and the state of the roads. He also suggested a stop at the beach and caves nearby and a good thing he did or we would have missed this gem. There was no chef in the restaurant in the off season and the owner was the cook. We had a fair lamb dish and a delicious hot apple cake. Breakfast was the usual buffet and very good, in particular the warm pastry bun.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we stayed one night in this hotel and although we thought it was a bit expensive we enjoyed our stay.The room was comfortable and warm. The shower was very good. The breakfast was delicious. The hotel was easy to find from the main road. It is between the mountains and the sea so there are some good views to see.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
567 reviews 567 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 183 cities Reviews in 183 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We were booked to stay at Hotel Hofoabrekka, and asked by the manager to give up our room as they were overbooked. We agreed as we had no ties to either place. We were offered a free buffet dinner for giving up,our room. The staff at Lundi were kind, cheerful, and friendly. She even called the prior place to get permission for us to bring our own wine to dinner! The Lundi is modest, clean and comfy. We were exhausted from flying all day and all night! So we were fine with he switch. Having twin beds is a wonderful idea when we are jet lagged and in need of just sleep! The modest room was clean, linens fresh and very inviting after so many hours in travel!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Great renovated rooms in back with updates to bathrooms as well. Clean, bright modern unlike rest of hotel (which is still charming). Be warned that the free WiFi doesn't reach back to the farthest rooms however. No TVs in room (not that this is a problem)

The best non-chain hotel we stayed at during our 8days however the breakfast was the worst in terms of selection/offering.

We didn't eat other meals there either... Great Bistro around the back (west side) of the local gas station just a few blocks away and on route 1 as you come into town. Little bit of wait but worth it when compared to eating in hotel

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Lundi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lundi

Address: Vikurbraut 24a - 26, Vik 870 , Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lundi 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Vík, Hotel Lundi is a charming and cozy place. The hotel offers accommodation in 22 comfortable and modern rooms with private facilities. Our restaurant offers an excellent A la Carte Menu during the summer and we offer a simple menu of home cooked meals during winter time. Group Menus are available all year on request. Hotel Lundi is open whole year round. During winter time stunning display of Northern Lights could be seen from our hotel. Hotel Lundi is situated only a short walking distance from the picturesque black sandy beach and the famous volcanic columns Reynisdrangar. Supermarket, bank with ATM Tourist Information Center and the swimming pool is also within walking distance from the Hotel. Our location offers excellent opportunities for hiking, snowmobiling, glacier tours and birdwatching. Free wi-fi is available for all our guests. We are open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Lundi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lundi Hotel Vik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lundi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.