We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel comfortable, easy to find.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lundi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lundi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Lundi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vikurbraut 24a - 26, Vik 870 , Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Vik
Rainham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Hotel comfortable, easy to find.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we stayed one night in this hotel and although we thought it was a bit expensive we enjoyed our stay.The room was comfortable and warm. The shower was very good. The breakfast was delicious. The hotel was easy to find from the main road. It is between the mountains and the sea so there are some good views to see.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    26
    6
    5
See reviews for
9
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
567 reviews 567 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 182 cities Reviews in 182 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We were booked to stay at Hotel Hofoabrekka, and asked by the manager to give up our room as they were overbooked. We agreed as we had no ties to either place. We were offered a free buffet dinner for giving up,our room. The staff at Lundi were kind, cheerful, and friendly. She even called the prior place to get permission for us to bring our own wine to dinner! The Lundi is modest, clean and comfy. We were exhausted from flying all day and all night! So we were fine with he switch. Having twin beds is a wonderful idea when we are jet lagged and in need of just sleep! The modest room was clean, linens fresh and very inviting after so many hours in travel!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Great renovated rooms in back with updates to bathrooms as well. Clean, bright modern unlike rest of hotel (which is still charming). Be warned that the free WiFi doesn't reach back to the farthest rooms however. No TVs in room (not that this is a problem)

The best non-chain hotel we stayed at during our 8days however the breakfast was the worst in terms of selection/offering.

We didn't eat other meals there either... Great Bistro around the back (west side) of the local gas station just a few blocks away and on route 1 as you come into town. Little bit of wait but worth it when compared to eating in hotel

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Deutschland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The hotel is rather expensive and the rooms are dated and small. The town is relly nice and there are no real alternatives to this hotel, which is easy to find. We stayed in a 3 bed room with ensuite bathroom. There was no TV which was not a real problem for us. WiFi was free and fast. Staff was very nice! Included breakfast was decent. Dinner at the restaurant was expensive but very very good! All in all - despite the rather old, small rooms and despite the price this was a good place to stay. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Expensive, old, dirty guesthouse. Worst hostel i found in iceland so far. Rooms are small and stink, should be demolished and rebuilt, some of the hotel personnel are kind and location is easy to find.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King City, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

The main hotel was pretty good! The bath rooms were spacious and had excellent bathroom facilities! Hair dryer was broken but I didn't feel like complaining about it! The continental breakfast was ok nothing too special. The cute guy working the desk was fantastic. The lodge is old but definately not the worst place we stayed! Wifi was excellent and beds comfortable. The one draw back was the heads of the beds were at the window so the light was never ending despite the dark out curtains! I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torshavn, Faroe Islands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

During our week long stay in Iceland the visit at the Hotel Lundin was the only negative experience. Arriving very late at the Hotel Lundi the receptionist was very determined that we paid before we went to saw the Guesthouse. No wonder why - we would never had staid there if we had seen the guesthouse up front. There is nothing good to say about this place. The rooms are dirty, the hallway is smelly, no private toilets and no electricity outlet in the room.

To add to all this the price we paid corresponds to what you normally pay for a 3 star hotel. All in all, the Guesthouse really is a rip-of and I would recommend everyone to stay away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Lundi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lundi

Address: Vikurbraut 24a - 26, Vik 870 , Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lundi 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Vík, Hotel Lundi is a charming and cozy place. The hotel offers accommodation in 22 comfortable and modern rooms with private facilities. Our restaurant offers an excellent A la Carte Menu during the summer and we offer a simple menu of home cooked meals during winter time. Group Menus are available all year on request. Hotel Lundi is open whole year round. During winter time stunning display of Northern Lights could be seen from our hotel. Hotel Lundi is situated only a short walking distance from the picturesque black sandy beach and the famous volcanic columns Reynisdrangar. Supermarket, bank with ATM Tourist Information Center and the swimming pool is also within walking distance from the Hotel. Our location offers excellent opportunities for hiking, snowmobiling, glacier tours and birdwatching. Free wi-fi is available for all our guests. We are open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Lundi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lundi Hotel Vik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lundi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.