We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meatsoup” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welcome Hotel in Vik

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Welcome Hotel in Vik to your Saves list
Welcome Hotel in Vik
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vikurbraut 24a - 26, Vik 870, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Vik
Egilsstadir, Iceland
1 review
“Meatsoup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed there for a night a couple of days ago and i was not disapointed with anything. The place was clean and the bed comfortable. I also ate at their restaurant where i had the lamb meat soup, which was really good

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    38
    43
    26
    21
See reviews for
29
66
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We rolled into Vik in the dark on Thanksgiving week with no booking (one of those in the moment type vacations). We heard about Hotel Edda from Trip Advisor and our travel book but they were closed. Turned out Hotel Lundi/Hotel Puffin was the only hotel open. Seemed like we were in the newer section of the hotel. Very modern/Scandanavian feel. The room was lovely although a bit warm with no apparent heat source to adjust. The evening staff (I think the owner) was very nice and the morning staff (a young man) was very helpful as far as looking up the weather for us and the state of the roads. He also suggested a stop at the beach and caves nearby and a good thing he did or we would have missed this gem. There was no chef in the restaurant in the off season and the owner was the cook. We had a fair lamb dish and a delicious hot apple cake. Breakfast was the usual buffet and very good, in particular the warm pastry bun.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we stayed one night in this hotel and although we thought it was a bit expensive we enjoyed our stay.The room was comfortable and warm. The shower was very good. The breakfast was delicious. The hotel was easy to find from the main road. It is between the mountains and the sea so there are some good views to see.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
659 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We were booked to stay at Hotel Hofoabrekka, and asked by the manager to give up our room as they were overbooked. We agreed as we had no ties to either place. We were offered a free buffet dinner for giving up,our room. The staff at Lundi were kind, cheerful, and friendly. She even called the prior place to get permission for us to bring our own wine to dinner! The Lundi is modest, clean and comfy. We were exhausted from flying all day and all night! So we were fine with he switch. Having twin beds is a wonderful idea when we are jet lagged and in need of just sleep! The modest room was clean, linens fresh and very inviting after so many hours in travel!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Great renovated rooms in back with updates to bathrooms as well. Clean, bright modern unlike rest of hotel (which is still charming). Be warned that the free WiFi doesn't reach back to the farthest rooms however. No TVs in room (not that this is a problem)

The best non-chain hotel we stayed at during our 8days however the breakfast was the worst in terms of selection/offering.

We didn't eat other meals there either... Great Bistro around the back (west side) of the local gas station just a few blocks away and on route 1 as you come into town. Little bit of wait but worth it when compared to eating in hotel

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The hotel is rather expensive and the rooms are dated and small. The town is relly nice and there are no real alternatives to this hotel, which is easy to find. We stayed in a 3 bed room with ensuite bathroom. There was no TV which was not a real problem for us. WiFi was free and fast. Staff was very nice! Included breakfast was decent. Dinner at the restaurant was expensive but very very good! All in all - despite the rather old, small rooms and despite the price this was a good place to stay. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Expensive, old, dirty guesthouse. Worst hostel i found in iceland so far. Rooms are small and stink, should be demolished and rebuilt, some of the hotel personnel are kind and location is easy to find.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vik
0.4 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
3.4 mi away
Hotel Hofdabrekka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Dyrholaey
Hotel Dyrholaey
#5 of 6 in Vik
3.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hotel Skogar
Hotel Skogar
#1 of 2 in Skogar
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
10.6 mi away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#2 of 8 in Vik
5.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Hotel in Vik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Hotel in Vik

Address: Vikurbraut 24a - 26, Vik 870, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Welcome Hotel in Vik 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Welcome Hotel in Vik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welcome Hotel in Vik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.