We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel comfortable, easy to find.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Welcome Hotel in Vik

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Welcome Hotel in Vik to your Saves list
Welcome Hotel in Vik
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vikurbraut 24a - 26, Vik 870, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Vik
Rainham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Hotel comfortable, easy to find.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we stayed one night in this hotel and although we thought it was a bit expensive we enjoyed our stay.The room was comfortable and warm. The shower was very good. The breakfast was delicious. The hotel was easy to find from the main road. It is between the mountains and the sea so there are some good views to see.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    38
    39
    19
    15
See reviews for
25
58
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
640 reviews 640 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 206 cities Reviews in 206 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We were booked to stay at Hotel Hofoabrekka, and asked by the manager to give up our room as they were overbooked. We agreed as we had no ties to either place. We were offered a free buffet dinner for giving up,our room. The staff at Lundi were kind, cheerful, and friendly. She even called the prior place to get permission for us to bring our own wine to dinner! The Lundi is modest, clean and comfy. We were exhausted from flying all day and all night! So we were fine with he switch. Having twin beds is a wonderful idea when we are jet lagged and in need of just sleep! The modest room was clean, linens fresh and very inviting after so many hours in travel!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Great renovated rooms in back with updates to bathrooms as well. Clean, bright modern unlike rest of hotel (which is still charming). Be warned that the free WiFi doesn't reach back to the farthest rooms however. No TVs in room (not that this is a problem)

The best non-chain hotel we stayed at during our 8days however the breakfast was the worst in terms of selection/offering.

We didn't eat other meals there either... Great Bistro around the back (west side) of the local gas station just a few blocks away and on route 1 as you come into town. Little bit of wait but worth it when compared to eating in hotel

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The hotel is rather expensive and the rooms are dated and small. The town is relly nice and there are no real alternatives to this hotel, which is easy to find. We stayed in a 3 bed room with ensuite bathroom. There was no TV which was not a real problem for us. WiFi was free and fast. Staff was very nice! Included breakfast was decent. Dinner at the restaurant was expensive but very very good! All in all - despite the rather old, small rooms and despite the price this was a good place to stay. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Expensive, old, dirty guesthouse. Worst hostel i found in iceland so far. Rooms are small and stink, should be demolished and rebuilt, some of the hotel personnel are kind and location is easy to find.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King City, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

The main hotel was pretty good! The bath rooms were spacious and had excellent bathroom facilities! Hair dryer was broken but I didn't feel like complaining about it! The continental breakfast was ok nothing too special. The cute guy working the desk was fantastic. The lodge is old but definately not the worst place we stayed! Wifi was excellent and beds comfortable. The one draw back was the heads of the beds were at the window so the light was never ending despite the dark out curtains! I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torshavn, Faroe Islands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

During our week long stay in Iceland the visit at the Hotel Lundin was the only negative experience. Arriving very late at the Hotel Lundi the receptionist was very determined that we paid before we went to saw the Guesthouse. No wonder why - we would never had staid there if we had seen the guesthouse up front. There is nothing good to say about this place. The rooms are dirty, the hallway is smelly, no private toilets and no electricity outlet in the room.

To add to all this the price we paid corresponds to what you normally pay for a 3 star hotel. All in all, the Guesthouse really is a rip-of and I would recommend everyone to stay away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Welcome Hotel in Vik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Hotel in Vik

Address: Vikurbraut 24a - 26, Vik 870, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Welcome Hotel in Vik 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Welcome Hotel in Vik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welcome Hotel in Vik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.