We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY SUPERB” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Klettsvegur 1-5, Vik 870, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Vik
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“ABSOLUTELY SUPERB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We recently had our wedding in Vik, on the beach and stayed at Hotel Edda.
We could not have been any happier with our stay. IT WAS INCREDIBLE. The staff at the hotel are absolutely lovely and are willing to do anything to make your stay amazing.
The hotel is very clean and comfortable and well looked after.
Breakfast was delicious. And the area was magnificent.
The hotel also has a restaurant on the beach for hire. This is where we had our reception. Again.... PERFECT. We were just blown away with the service and location and EVERYTHING.
Visiting Vik in winter is a MUST. It is beautiful.
Thank you Hotel Edda for making us feel so welcome. We will be back.
I recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    99
    49
    21
    3
See reviews for
37
108
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Seljalandsfoss, Skogafoss, and the beautiful basalt columns and terrain features of Vik Beach are all easily accessible from here. There is also a nearby service station and food which is very handy!

The actual cabins are very nice and picturesque, but are not the most private as people have eluded to.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a packaged tour. Dinners in the hotel were very yummy, especially the soups. Convenient location. Tourist shops just across the street. Close enough to walk into the town to bank or shop. The room was nice. All rooms are on ground level. Bathroom can get a bit wet from the shower, but that could be that we aren't used to that type (shower curtain only, not an enclosure).

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

If you're visiting Vik to take pictures of the sea stacks, this is THE best location. You can walk across the road and down the beach easily to get to the stacks. If you have a car, you can easily drive to Dyrholaey from here, too. The rooms are basic and either face the cliff in back or face the highway and the ocean. The rooms are nothing to write home about. They seem to cater to groups and bus tours. Breakfast is large and quite varied. Wi-fi is available in the lobby. You can buy beer from the front desk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We toured Iceland in June, following the ring road anticlockwise. We decided to spend the first night at Vik. This is a small village in a magnificent setting by the sea. Built at the foot of a cliff, the hotel rooms offer very nice views at the black beach. The room was average, clean and simple. Generally accomodation in Iceland is expensive, so don't expect to find something much cheaper. In any case, you shouldn't really mind about the room. Take a walk around the village and down to the beach and you will be more than compensated by the silentness, the beauty of the scenery, the really almost unearthly environment. Opt for the restaurant acroos the street: good food, really friendly service and a 10% discount if you are a hotel client.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

There are rooms in the main hotel as well as cabins away from the hotel. We stayed in one of the cabins and found that the room was quite rustic in the fact that the bed, bedding and couch were very worn.

The washroom is very small and the shower does not have a stall, just a curtain to hold back some of the water. In the end, everything gets wet in the bathroom. This is a common style of shower around Iceland, but we found this one the worst of them all. The hotel provided Dove bodywash and shampoo...which we appreciated.

The hotel is located right on the highway and is easily accessible by car and on foot.
There is free wifi in the hotel lobby, check-in was easy and the main desk staff was friendly.

There is a grocery store just minutes away, however they close pretty early (around 7 pm when we were there). There is also one gas station, one restaurant grill and one fancier restaurant all in one building just across the highway from the hotel.

The breakfast was a pure continental breakfast. Selection was average.

This hotel is relatively close to two of Iceland's more popular waterfalls, Seljalandsfoss and Skogafoss. If you want to spend a lot of time there, then this hotel would be a good place to stop at for the night.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the cabins. #5 is a decent distance from the hotel lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in the main hotel and found everything comfortable and clean. Staff at the front desk were accommodating, providing extra pillows when we asked and general helpful advice. The restaurant across the street was very good for dinner. Breakfast in the morning at the hotel was plentiful with quite a bit of selection including waffles. The hotel will also make you a lunch to go which we took advantage of and were pleasantly surprised by the quality and value. Only draw back was that it was impossible to keep the bathroom floor dry while having a shower ... needed many towels to mop up the water!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal

Address: Klettsvegur 1-5, Vik 870, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Edda Vik i Myrdal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.