We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vik Hostel Iceland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nordur-Vik Youth Hostel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nordur-Vik Youth Hostel
Suourvikurvegur 5, Vik IS-870, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Vik
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Vik Hostel Iceland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Loved this hostel in the village of Vik iMrydal in Iceland. Very homely. The living room and kitchen feels like you're at home. Busy all year round. 6 months advance booking required especially in summer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
20
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, Wales, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Hasn't got its own website with directions and contact numbers so had to call from booking confirmation to find them as no signs to hostel amd no locals knew of it. Coming from reykjavik direction - take first left up a hill, keep going 50 metres after Tarmac ends and hostel is around to the left.

Lovely staff. Comfy beds. Really nice breakfast with home made bread, preserves and their own eggs. Great atmosphere - lively but not in a leery way.


Downside - Could do with some more toilets

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed in this hostel during the summer for a one night stopover as I was doing the ringroad trip. This is a charming place with very friendly staff. Although small, it gives a nice welcome to its guests and is located quite close to the centre of town where a supermarket opens till 8pm (in summer). The kitchen facilities are used extensively by the guests as is the normal in Icelandic hostels. The only negative may be that shoes must be removed on entering the hostel and at the entance one will find loads of guests' shoes in front of him.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very small and friendly hostel in Vik is situated on a small hill. The center of town you have to go half a mile. Hostel has its own free parking. Working at the front desk very nice and helpful person. I printed the free plane tickets and helped to book other services. The kitchen is very small, but well-equipped. The rooms are clean and nice you can relax here. Wifi works fine and is free. The worst side of the hostel are the bathrooms. There are a few and they are very small and you can not move freely there. Addition to the reception lobby is a small room with books and information about Iceland. There also is the best wifi internet coverage. In the dining room you have to eat breakfast very early, because then there pay hostel prepares breakfast. This is a bad idea, because the hostel is so little space. However, is worth at least spend an overnight. Beautiful view from the window of the village, the sea and the church on the hill.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pfaffenhofen an der Ilm, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Oh it was amazing! There is so much to tell!
We were there in the middle of august.

Rooms:
The Rooms are really nice and very cozy. There are self-made paintings on some walls. It is a small hostel - so it is really familiar. The family is very lovely!
The rooms and bathrooms are really clean! All in all there are 3 bathrooms. Every 4 rooms have one bathroom.

Kitchen, Dining room, living room:
In the kitchen there is really everything you need to cook. It's quite tall. There are 2 different cookers. Every with 4 places for pots. There is als a really huge fridge where you can have your food. I love this kitchen! And its very clean!
The diningroom is also very huge! And there are selfmade volcano candles. It's really cozy!
The livingroom is the first room, where you come in! Great! There are many informations, books, games, videos, there is a Tv. You can buy selfmade things from people from vik!

Breakfast:
For some extra pay there is the best breakfast I ever had!
You can eat eggs from the family's chickens, selfmade jam and marmalade, selfmade bread, self-made fresh and warm waffles, berries from the familys farm, 3 different yoghurts, toast and crackers, different hams and different cheeses, smoked fish, fresh vegetables, milk and diffent kind of müsli. There is an huge selection of tea, juice, and sirups.
Its really everything there! Expeccially the waffles are so great!
Everything is self-made.

Staff:
Very friendly! Did a good job and smiled a lot! And the dog is such a good friend!

Area:
Vik is one of the most beautiful places in iceland!
There are many many puffins. You can walk up to the mountain and you can see dyrholaey and the reznisfjara&reynisdrangar!
The black beaches are some of the most beautiful beaches of the world!! You have to visit them! You can also go to the glacier from the hostel. It's near the Mýrdalsjökull and the volcano Katla!

Room Tip: Unten gibt es "Kellerzimmer". Auch diese haben große Fenster, die mit dem Boden draußen au...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Illinois
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I didn't sleep much the night before I arrived here so I was super tired. I checked in and took a shower. No problems. I locked up my wallet, keys, etc and got into a bed. A few people came in and out but weren't loud. I think I slept about 12 hours for the first time in my life! Half way through, a nice lady tapped me on the shoulder and gave me a warm blanket since I didn't know they were available and was using my jacket again. That definitely made it even better! Overall, great hostel. No issues at all! Will stay here again next time I'm in Iceland

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We paid 20,800 for three people to stay here 1 night. We paid extra for the towels and beddings. We made our own bed. Bathroom is clean and there is one shared by people on each floor. The double room we stayed in is small. You need to remove your shoes at the reception area and not wear them to the room unless you put shoe covers on them. Do bring your shampoo and soap along. We walked to the town nearby for dinner at Halldorskaffi which serve delicious burgers and lamb sandwich. Cooking facilities are provided at the hostel kitchen. People are friendly.
Highlight of the stay is the delicious thin homemade waffles slathered with butter and homemade syrup. They made them as you eat them and there is unlimited supply of freshly made warm waffles to start the morning. This is a nice change of breakfast. The usual items of homemade bread with cheese and cold cuts are also available. Free and fast internet is available at the lobby. A nice walk at the Vik Black Sand Beach (one of the most beautiful beaches in the world) just before breakfast on a not so windy and cold day is lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nordur-Vik Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordur-Vik Youth Hostel

Also Known As:
Nordur Vik Youth Hostel
Address: Suourvikurvegur 5, Vik IS-870, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nordur-Vik Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nordur-Vik Youth Hostel to your Saves list