We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Guesthouse Gardakot

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grand Guesthouse Gardakot to your Saves list
Grand Guesthouse Gardakot
Gardakot, Vik, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Vik B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

After doing a three day trip in Iceland, staying at a different place every night, this was by far the most pleasant and cheapest stay. The interior of the house was wonderful and the breakfast likewise. The location were, for our purposes, excellent. It is small, personal and family driven. Our only regret is that we did not stay more nights here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
55
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potsdam, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Gardakot was not so grand for us. Located ten minutes from Vik, we did not realize it was a working farm, or that we could have cooked there. Eva informed us the satellite was not working-so farewell to the 300 stations. We would have enjoyed some background noise as opposed to hearing 6 other guests cook their meal outside our main floor door. Eager for a shower, we were appalled to find no hot water at 7PM. I knocked on Eva's door and her husband told me to "Wait for 3 or 4 hours and there should be hot water." I was disappointed to not hear the words, "I'm sorry," even more than I was disappointed when there still was no hot water at 11PM. We revised our plan to stay one night only. In the morning, I got a hot shower, but nobody else did. I quietly told Eva that in spite of promises of hot water soon to return, we had already decided to move on. I had the money for one night in my hand, but to her credit Eva insisted that the cost be reduced from 16,500 to 11,500. Breakfast could have been lovely, but I had to get up in the middle of it to be present in the bathroom connected to our room while Eva's husband checked the water and hauled gunk out of the drain for me to see--as if the gunk was the cause of no hot water. The renovation of the building is beautiful; Eva's artwork in the dining area is wonderful; she welcomed us with tea and cake; it had such promise. Eva is a talented artist, and had a wonderful painting in the dining room. We were in a main floor room--white walls, white trim, white blinds, and a great big, useless TV screen was the only thing on the wall. I wished Eva had hung one of her paintings in that room as a focal point. The beds and pillows were memory foam, which would have appeal for some; but sadly not for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were greeted by the Junior Hostess, Greta, She did an exceptional job of getting us settled and explaining everything. We then met Eva and her husband and they both made us feel at home. The accommodations are 5-star and the breakfasts were wonderful.This is an ideal "home base" for exploring the VIK area. Our every need was met.
I would love to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Eva and her guesthouse is extraordinary, and I don't think there is a nicer experience you could get in this area, or even all of Iceland. My wife and I went here on our anniversary, and it is a great place for a romantic get-a-way, but it was also well suited to families and solo-travelers/friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4, which is bigger than room 3, but they both share the upstairs bathroom (very cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Grand Guesthouse Gardakot whilst exploring southern Iceland. We had booked this guesthouse as we were due to go on a glacier walk nearby the next day, however due to bad weather the walk was cancelled. Despite our plans changing we were very happy we had made the trip from Reykjavik to this lovely area and in particular to this lovely guesthouse. The location is stunning and the welcome warm and friendly. Moments after being shown to our lovely clean and spacious en suite room we were being treated to tea and homemade cake. The breakfast was equally tasty and plentiful with a great choice of breads, jams, cereals and pancakes. It was a shame we only had one night here and we will definately return to the Grand Guesthouse Gardakot on our next trip to Iceland. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had the most perfect stay in this lovely B&B last weekend. The setting is breathtaking, between snow top mountains and the black beaches, yet only ten minutes drive from Vik. The house itself is newly renovated, everything looks beautiful with great attention to detail. And Eva is the best hostess and a fabulous cook, there were always delicious homemade cakes and breads available and we were even encouraged to take some with us for the day. And as a bonus, we saw the northern lights from our bedroom window! If you go to South Iceland, make sure you stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I cannot speak highly enough about this place. The first thing that strikes you as you approach Gardakot is the gorgeous setting on the outskirts of Vik. Then you enter the restored farm building and are given the warmest welcome by Eva, the hostess. She prepared tea for our group of four and greeted us with a table full of home made cakes and pastries in the generous kitchen/dining area and came early in the morning to bake bread and pastries and prepare pancakes for breakfast. She is very approachable and knowledgeable about the area and helped point out the faint northern lights to us newbies before they got very bright.

I stayed in the west facing room upstairs, which was as cosy, impeccably clean and stylishly and tastefully decorated as the rest of the house and the shared bathroom. The downstairs rooms are ensuite. We had a great view of the spectacular aurora borealis from our bed. The lounge area has a large TV and comfortable sofa, and the house has a solid and speedy wifi connection.

My stay at Gardakot was a memorable one and I would definitely stay there again if I am in southern Iceland. Thank you Eva!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Guesthouse Gardakot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Guesthouse Gardakot

Address: Gardakot, Vik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grand Guesthouse Gardakot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Guesthouse Gardakot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.