We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth the time and effort to enjoy this owner operated experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Katlatrack Adventure Tours

Katlatrack Adventure Tours
Austurvegur 18, Vik, Iceland
+354 849 4404
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 9 Attractions in Vik
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The main emphasis of Katlatrack‘s activies revolve around the glacier Myrdalsjokull and Katla, Icelands most powerful volcano which sleeps under its thick blanket of ice, and the majestic nature which surrounds that area. Katlatrack makes every effort to adapt their trips to your needs so that you will have the best possible experience.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the time and effort to enjoy this owner operated experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My family of 4 spent the day with Katlatrack Adventure Tours recently and I highly recommend the experience. We unfortunately experienced very cloudy weather but Guojon, the owner operator, adjust the itinerary accordingly and each experience got better and better. I can only image what it would have been like if we had ideal weather which is a rarity around Vik I think. We did the tour from Reykjavic and mistakenly thought that it was only a 5-6 Superjeep tour from Reykjavic but in fact it was tacked onto another tour from Reykjavic and the 7 of us were dropped off in Vik where Guojon picked us up. In total it was around 15 hours from start to finish including the transportation from Reykjavic and return but well worth it even though it was one of only two full days we had in Iceland. In addition to the amazing scenery and history of the region, both geologic and cultural, our biggest enjoyment was simply learning how people in Iceland grow up and live. The only thing we would change if we went back would to have asked Guojon a bunch more questions about the Iceland culture and what do they do in the middle of the long winter for entertainment when living in Vik and other smaller towns and communities in Iceland.

Afterwards my wife and I sat down and discussed the day and she brought up the very good point that what made Katlatrack Adventure Tours and its 'Under the Volcano' so special is that Guojon owns and operates the company and has a fierce love of his country and culture. Additionally rarely do you find this sort of service or experience nowadays because rarely do you find businesses that are being solely operated by the owner and this makes a huge amount of difference. Most guides and representatives nowadays are paid employees, and some are absolutely amazing, but you will never get the same sort of service and experience from a paid employee that you will get from an owner and Guojon is an exceptional owner, guide and person. Thank you and hope to do enjoy this experience again some day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    0
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cap d'Ail, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

An unforgetable day tour with a very good & nice guide. Glaciers, black sand, vulcano, amazing points of view, Highly recommendable !

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An Amazing Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The day started at 8am when Guðjón collected us from the hotel for an adventure that lasted over 12 hours on the South Shore of Iceland and to the Katla glacier, with many jaw dropping sights and experiences along the way. Our host combined the super jeep off road thrills, amazing natural sights, insights into life in Iceland and all personalised using his own family history. Needless to say, we were taken to places where few visitors to the island rarely see and witnessed the splendid natural grandeur and remoteness of Iceland. Guðjón is the perfect host and has put together an extremely well balanced adventure from a "different planet". All delivered with a real passion for his home, and with great humour.
If you have the good fortune to be able to experience this day, you won't forget it !!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

One of the best vacation experiences ever. We started with a departure from the hotel in Reykjavik in a extra-big wheel truck, by Guðjón of Katlatrack Tours. We drove east towards some of the most beautiful parts of Iceland that only a few lucky people ever get to see. Beautiful waterfalls, black sand beaches, light house, and a delicious lunch in the village Vik. After a brief history lesson in the local volcano museum, we hit the road towards the volcano and glacier....ok perhaps we didn't stay on the road for long. Before we knew it we were gliding across a snow covered lava field towards to fresh snow covered glacier. Once at the top, we explored the untouched fresh snow. Each step of the trip, our guide Guðjón, filled us in on all the history, sites, and folklore. He kept us entertained with his stories and thrilled with off road ride. I can't wait for our next trip to Iceland and another Katlatrack tour.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Katlatrack shows you Iceland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

From the beginning of the trip to the end, we saw Iceland as it was meant to be seen. This isn't something you watch from a big bus, you experience it in a giant Jeep - just check out thier facebook page. I highly recommend the trip - from the glacier visit, the waterfalls, black beaches and of course driving across the 'tundra' (not technically tunda as my friend points out) - but a vast expanse of snow and ice that would appear to have been untouched by anyone. This was a great discovery and led by an experienced guide Guðjón who has deep ties to historical Iceland.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katlatrack Adventure Tours also viewed

 

Been to Katlatrack Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katlatrack Adventure Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.