We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable plus excellent breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hofdabrekka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hofdabrekka to your Saves list
Hotel Hofdabrekka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hofoabrekku, Vik 871, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Vik
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable plus excellent breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Rooms in the new building are large, clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly and the food is very good, if a little pricey. The breakfast (included in the price of our room) was excellent. As others have pointed out, the menu is a little limited if you're staying for a while: there are only five options of main course. However, alternative food options in Vik are limited and it is worth staying in the area for a while so this is a minor gripe. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    127
    70
    11
    2
See reviews for
47
137
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The inside of the buildings looked like they were made of wood, very cozy feeling. We had dinner there and the food there was the best I had in Iceland, but was rather expensive. It was buffet style and I think we were charged 80 euros for two people.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during a romantic getaway and loved it. The staff is welcoming, the hotel is clean, updated and cozy. The restaurant was wonderful for dinner and for breakfast in the morning. Wonderful place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adams, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed here as we travelled the southern portion of the country and it was a great experience. Out of the way and isolated against the city of Vik made it a great place to stay. The place was reasonably priced with a great resturaunt with fabulous food. Have the smoked salmon starter. Breakfast was very tasty and the staff was helpful. The rooms were quiet, minus the wind that howled all night, but that just made it better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The rooms of this hotel are very nice. This is little outside of the Vik town, so perfect for those who want to stay away from city during holidays. The hotel is surrounded by hills and have a very nice landscape all around.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosfellsbaer, Iceland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel many times, both on vacation and as a tour-guide. As always, the friendly hospitality of Björgvin and Halla was superb! Strategic location and accessibility. Very nice to take a trip to the highlands just behind the hotel, to Þakgil. Or simply relax in the hot-tubs...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taoyuan, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Located in a very small town, Vik, this hotel was a great place to stay.
We were very happy when we entered into the room.So spacious!! The lighting was perfect. There was a sofa where you could sit and enjoy reading. It was also very quiet. We had very sound sleeps while stayiing there. Next to the room buildings, there was a restaurant serving yummy food. It was very convenient. We also used the hot tub facility they provided. Very comfortable and relaxing!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hofdabrekka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hofdabrekka

Address: Hofoabrekku, Vik 871, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hofdabrekka 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Hofdabrekka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofdabrekka Hotel Vik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hofdabrekka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.