We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lundi Restaurant

Hotel Lundi Restaurant
Vikurbraut 24a-26, Vik 870 Vik, Iceland
+354 - 4871212
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 8 restaurants in Vik
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Hotel Lundi restaurant specializes in traditional Icelandic food with a modern touch. All ingredients are local and of the highest quality. During high season, April - September, we offer an excellent A la carte menu. During low season, we offer a simple menu of home cooked meals.The restaurant has seating for 75 people.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Not a huge amount of choice in the air and this seemed the best on offer. We had a very tasty meal and prices were reasonable by Icelandic standards. Would happily eat here again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    21
    26
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“OK food but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Went here for dinner - We tried the Icelandic lamb soup - it was delicious. We had the char and chicken for entrees. My wife loved her chicken - it had the reddest risotto i've ever seen coming from beet. The chicken was not dry, the risotto was tasty and creamy. i thought the char was ok - the seasoning was on the lacking side (i added a bit of salt) but the side that came with it was very tasty. if you ate the char with the sides, then they make good combination.The potatoes were the tastiest i've had though.

In summary, we had:
-Coke (1)
-Beer (0.5 l)
-Lamb soup starter
-Char entree
-Chicken entree

approx total = ~ $100 CAD





Pros:
-Attentive waiter

Cons:
-Expensive average-quality food

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Friendly service and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal here. The soups were generous and piping hot. Not much mushroom in the mushroom soup but tasty all the same. The traditional Icelandic soup was lovely. Cured horse meat was interesting, and the waiter's comment that at least they are honest about eating horsemeat was very apt! The roast lamb was nice enough; a little overlooked for our liking. The char was beautiful. Dessert was simple but satisfying.
Vik is no metropolis, but Hotel Lundi offers good, hearty meals and friendly service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pony”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Arriving late we decided to eat at the hotel instead of going out (stayed in the hostel as hotel was full- ok but not great). 2 of us ordered the horsemeat steak, one the chard. The meals took ages to arrive, and then... the chard was spartan, bland and overcooked, Nothing terrible but not great for the price. The horse steaks... well, we thought it was a mistake at first. two slivers of meat each, a small spoonful of ratatouille, a large pile of random lettuce and a couple of slices of tomato. Oh and a small jar of pepper sauce- which was totally bland.

I called the waiter straight over and asked what was going on? The portions were clearly unacceptable- barely starter portions. He explained that they had run out of horsemeat, that was all that was left. As he could see we were quite annoyed he said he would try and sort out some money off, and went back into the kitchen. eventually we were told that we would only be charged for the 1 horse steak. To add insult to injury, the steak was tough and bland.

Sorry but if we had not said anything they would have just charged us full price, knowing they had served up unacceptable food. Even the sides were ludicrously small. This is not nouvelle cuisine, This was just a cheap restaurant trying its luck. Not happy at all!!!! Expensive too!!! The beers are twice the price of elsewhere- and dont even look at the wine!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hótel L, Manager at Hotel Lundi Restaurant, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear customer,

First of all, we would like to apologize for the bad experience you had in our restaurant. We strive to provide good food and excellent service and make everyone happy. Your comments motivate us to make things better and avoid unpleasant experiences in the future.
We would like to respond to some of the the comments that you made. Regarding your booking, you made a reservation via booking.com for the hostel. We did have availability in the hotel that evening and had you asked for accommodation in the hotel, we would be happy to oblige.
Regarding the restaurant, this time of the year we are the only restaurant open in the area. We were a lot busier than usually, but we try to serve everybody that comes in, even if its busy, instead of sending hungry and dissatisfied people away. Such was the night when you had dinner in our place. Upon your arrival, you were informed that the food will take aproximately 30 minutes to be delivered.
We did make a bad judgement call regarding the size of the portions, since we overcalculated how many portions we have left. We apologize for this. We tried to compensate you by offering you a discount on the food. We are sorry that this did not lower your dissatisfaction.
As for the price of beers, we offer 0,33L beers from 800 ISK to 1000 ISK. We feel this prices reflect the standard of beers, since they are not mainstream beers, but they are craft beers from local breweries.
We do not offer nouvelle cousine. We are a seasonal restaurant offering home-cooked meals in the off season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Gorgeous food, great atmosphere and service and definitely worth a return visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay here but we were recommended to it for dinner as the dinner is seemingly gorgeous. This recommendation I would pass on to everyone! It was delicious. The decor was a quiet, low-lit but spacious and comfortable adding to the experience and enjoyment of the meal.

Although the menu was quite minimal, just 2 pages with a total of maybe 10 dishes, the choices were however very nice and completely unexpected, traditional Icelandic dishes.
We ordered Horse Steak, Cured Horse Salad, Lamb and, Char. All of which were beautifully presented, and very very healthy with root vegetables and salad a standard on all the dishes.

I wasn't too keen on trying horse, but seeing as everyone in Ireland and the UK has been eating horse for who knows how long and thinking it was beef I thought "why not?" Again, delicious.
I'll be going back here every time I'm in Vik.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Lundi Restaurant also viewed

Vik, South Region
Vik, South Region
 

Been to Hotel Lundi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lundi Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.