We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay in a great country!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Hotel

Save Saved
You added Volcano Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Volcano Hotel
Ketilsstadaskoli | Myrdalur, Vik 871, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Vik B&B and Inns
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great stay in a great country!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We very much enjoyed our cozy stay at the Volcano Hotel in Vik...One of our favorite spots in Iceland! The bed was incredibly comfortable and the room quite spacious. The staff was very hospitable and spoke impeccable English. We closed each night in the small bar area with a glass of wine, soaking in the atmosphere.

Three words: cozy, warm, comfortable

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    28
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
68
127
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in November. Chosen on the strength of previous Tripadvisor reviews, I can confirm that all the previous positive comments are true. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and simply but appealingly decorated. The location was an excellent base for our various excursions. Our host, Johann, was extremely friendly and helpful and a highlight was the wonderful meals he prepared for us each night of our stay – genuinely better than most restaurants I can think of. Breakfast each day was also delicious. The remote location would be perfect for viewing the Northern Lights, though sadly during our stay we had to settle for shooting stars, as there was no Aurora activity. I would have no hesitation in staying here again or in recommending the hotel to others.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed in the Volcano Hotel on a recent trip to Iceland. Discovered it on tripadvisor and turned off the highway just outside Vik to book a room. We loved this little hotel. Perfectly clean, warm, and welcoming. Can't say enough good about it. We also had an excellent dinner in their restaurant which was far better than meals eaten in Vik. I wish we could go back today!

Room Tip: Make sure and have dinner in their little restaurant/dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here with 2 friends, whilst travelling to the south of Iceland for 2 days. Booked on the strength of previous reviews, and was not dissapointed!
The rooms were so spacious and comfy, the shower lovely and powerful.
Service was understated and delivered to perfection...everything was provided that you needed, but in a way that helped you relax into your stay.
We pre-ordered our evening meal which was both delicious and great value for money! Artic Char was the dish of the day and it was lovely. My friend had lamb and said it was the best she had ever tasted.
Thyri was really helpful when we left, giving instructions on how to find some local sites we wanted to see.
Will definitely stay again when I return to Iceland, and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for somewhere nice to stay in the south of The island.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three days as part of our honeymoon. I really cannot say enough good things about this hotel. The hotel was clean, fresh, and modern. The beds were heavenly, and the scenery gorgeous.

The standouts for us were the food and the service. We had dinner there every night, and all three meals were exquisite. We had arctic char, chicken, and lamb. The lamb was the true superstar of this line-up though, and my wife and I devoured every bite. Breakfast was equally exceptional. Johann cooked us waffles and eggs to order. The waffles were out of this world, and he even had real Canadian maple syrup on hand. The eggs were cooked to order, and my fried eggs had truly enormous, deep, orange yolks, and were probably the best eggs I've ever had in my life, period.

The owners, Johann and Margaret, were always on hand, and on our first morning there, Johann sat with us after breakfast as we peppered him with questions about the region, life in Iceland, and life in general. He was also a fantastic guide, when he took us and two other couples out for a wonderful glacier hike. One of the highlights was Johann, demonstrating the effectiveness of the crampons and ice axes, running up a near vertical ice wall along the base of the glacier. Our party scaled about 500 vertical meters of glacier and he took us through numerous ice caves and tunnels within the glacier itself.

When we return to Iceland again, we will 100% be booking again at the Volcano Hotel!

Room Tip: If you like to sleep with the blinds open, I would suggest getting a room facing the mountains to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Volcano Hotel and had a truly memorable experience. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a great shower that did wonders for my sore muscles after long days of sight seeing. Johann was a wonderful host - he helped us with travel plans and advised us of road conditions. But the standout was his cooking - WOW. We ate dinner at the hotel every night and it was absolutely delicious (and very reasonably priced). First night was arctic cod - amazing! Beautifully prepared and so fresh. The second night we had lamb - probably one of the best pieces of lamb I've ever tasted - perfectly cooked & seasoned. The last night was cod - again a lovely dish. Iceland is one of the most untouched and naturally beautiful countries I've had the pleasure of visiting and I can't wait to come back. We will definitely stay at the Volcano Hotel when we return - excellent location, perfect for exploring all of the amazing sites, and fantastic hosts that truly care about their guests and strive to make their stay a delightful experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

While it may not look like much from the roadside, Volcano Hotel is a chic, modern little boutique hotel with many interesting design features. Our room was spacious, tasteful, and restful. The breakfast was wonderful - we actually had waffles and eggs for the first time on our trip (most Icelandic breakfasts are more smoked salmon or lunchmeat and rye bread), in addition to the more standard fare. Not too much to do around Vik, but the hotel was thoroughly enjoyable!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Volcano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Hotel

Address: Ketilsstadaskoli | Myrdalur, Vik 871, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Hotel is one of the smallest country hotels in Iceland, with only 7 but spacious rooms. It is located apr. 170 km east of the capital Reykjavík and only 12 km west from the village of Vík. At the hotel you can book hiking tours, super jeep tours, get advised on bird watching and more, as the hotel is close to some of the most beautiful natural wonders in Iceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Volcano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.