We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burgers and Lamb sandwich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Halldorskaffi

Halldorskaffi
Vikurbraut 28 | Vík í Mýrdal, Vik 870, Iceland
+354487 12 02
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Vik
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Burgers and Lamb sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had delicious burgers and lamb sandwich with fries at this simple place. It is quite popular but not crowded. Paid around 2,000 ISK for each portion. Very filling and walking distance to the Vik Hostel where we stayed the night. A nice change from the fish soup. Service is slower as there is only 1 waitress.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    128
    26
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice dinner but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Very nice and cosy restaurant. Traveling guide tell you to eat fish and lamb because they are local and cheap... well the traveling guides are WRONG... the lamb or even the fish main course were fairly expensive. If you are not on a budget, the lamb was superb.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Decent food among few options”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Nice atmosphere. I had the lamb sandwich which was thin sliced gyro meat on bread with fries. Beer was fairly cheap for Iceland. Hubby had pizza which was ok. Skyr cheesecake was ok, but I prefer a cup of skyr with granola in it, much cheaper. The place got pretty crowded and only one waitress. The cook came out to help after awhile.

The actual dinner menu was quite pricey. 4900-5300 isk for a full course meal. We didn't get that.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Nice coffee and nice waitresses. I had some Codfish and I must say that I ate better fish for less money many times in Iceland. The cake however was delicious.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Good food (we both had the artic char and soup), good value, nice atmosphere and good service. Easily the best place to eat in Vik.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halldorskaffi also viewed

Vik, South Region
Vik, South Region
 

Been to Halldorskaffi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halldorskaffi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.