We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surroundings!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse Vellir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Guesthouse Vellir to your Saves list
Guesthouse Vellir
Vellir, Vik 871, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Vik B&B and Inns
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Great surroundings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We spent one night here and it was one of the nicer places we stayed in during our week in Iceland. It's modern and clean and the staff was friendly to us.
We had a two bed room with private bathroom. There was enough space in the room and also in the bathroom.
The rooms have a book with some information about the area, which was cool as it is showed us the way to an abandoned plane in a lava field.
Breakfast was good and enough.
Views from our room were amazing!

Important to note is that this place is not in Vik!! It is about 15km before Vik if coming from Reykjavik. We had to back track because we were not aware of this.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    30
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
51
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My boyfriend and I arrived at this guesthouse one day earlier than expected but the host continued to treat us with kind hospitality. She provided us with breakfast and gave us towels to take a shower even though it was much earlier than the usual check in time.

The room we were given was spacious and had a nice view of green pastures speckled with white sheep. The toilet was clean and they have both a rain shower as well as hand held shower. Highly recommended by us.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We arrived after a long day driving and day spent at Blue Lagoon. At first we drove past it and into Vik. Probably should have checked before! So take note if you are coming from Reykjavik it is 18km before Vik. We noticed dinner must be pre booked. Understandable in view of the size of the guesthouse. We had a very nice dinner in the town anyway. But the restaurants close at 9 so keep that in mind. The hosts were very welcoming and the rooms were comfortable. Breakfast was great and the location was amazing. We only stayed a night but wished we had time for 2! Highly recommend this place.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

As our first night in Iceland I wanted to stay somewhere close to the Seljalandsfoss and Skogafoss waterfalls. Just outside of Vik this little farm hotel did just that trick. It offered a warm comfortable, clean room with shared bathrooms. Offered good value and nice views. They provided breakfast in the morning and a walk around the ground make you really appreciate just how expansive Iceland is.

We would stay there again!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Ultra friendly hosts. Clean and very comfortable rooms. Incredible location, rural. Awesome breakfast and dinner. Value for money. Nice and spacious cabin. Free WiFi. And again really really nice and helpful hosts! Close to a variety of stunning landscapes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Povoa de Varzim, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great place to start a visit to the south of Iceland.
almost 3 hours by car from the main airport in reykiavik.
Near Vik and the black beach.
Visit also jokulsarlon.
Good acomodation.
Good breakfast.
Good dinner
Very cal and peacefull
Very Freindly owners.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faenza, Italy
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Our room was functional but meaningless. In the bathroom we found a "dry-glass" to drain the water from the shower... A bit 'far from Vik.Tthe service and friendliness of the staff are to be improved as well as breakfast where we hadn't noticed anything homemade. When we arrived, by the time of check-in, there was nobody at the reception and we had to call the numbers listed on the close door. I think tha's unpleasant. Vellir is not in Vik but a bit 'far.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guesthouse Vellir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Vellir

Address: Vellir, Vik 871, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated guesthouse in beautiful surroundings by Pétursey mountain. Beautiful view to Mýrdalsjökull glacier, Dyrhólaey and to the ocean. 3 double rooms and 2 triple rooms with private facilities. Also 4 double rooms with hand basin and shared facilities. Dinner and a breakfast buffet offered in a bright dining hall with a nice view.Breakfast: is between 8:00-9:00.Coffee: open all day.Dinner: We offer three course meal. From 19:00-21:00. Hot and cold drinks for sale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Guesthouse Vellir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse Vellir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.