We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Base Out of” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse Vellir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Guesthouse Vellir to your Saves list
Guesthouse Vellir
Vellir, Vik 871, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Vik B&B and Inns
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Base Out of”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our group stayed in a number of farm guesthouses during our trip and this was the only stop that actually felt like we were staying on a farm (rather than a hotel/resort with farming around it). We stayed in one of the "cottages" which are actually pre-fab log houses with a very western-rustic feel to them. The cottages had a full kitchen, dining room and living room/sitting area. The bathroom was the only one during our trip that was full size (by US standards). The location was well situated for basing out of for day trips and with a kitchen and fridge, you could buy groceries and make limited meals. The down side was the extremely small bedrooms (a full size mattress actually touched 3 of the four walls). The breakfast was very good but is only served for an hour, so that was a drawback. The owners/hosts were very nice and real farmers, but spoke limited English (if that's an issue for you). All in all, I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    26
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
48
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Amazing hotel, one of my fav hotels in all of iceland!

clean, big, great shower and awesome food.
comy beds and amazing surroundings - you are literally in the mountains and horses behind the hotel

only downside - internet is slow in the rooms, so everybody is sitting in the restaurant

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

we stayed in one of the cottages- great for a family with equiped kitchen for light meals. The breakfast room was lovely with wonderful windows looking out over meadows. A bit outside of Vic. Teh Wi fi does not reach the cottages

Room Tip: The cottages are a great choice for a family- with an area to congregate without disturbing other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here on our longest day of driving and were exhausted so a little dismayed to learn that it isn't in Vik but out in farm country. The property has very nice views. We had a room with a private bath and the room was very clean, well lighted and had enough outlets for all of our electronics. It was quite warm so we slept with windows open and it would have been nice to have screens in the windows. Breakfast was adequate, but no more, in terms of food but the views were nice. Breakfast is only available from 8:00 - 9:00 a.m. The wi-fi connection was weak but basically serviceable. (We were told the signal is stronger in the lobby but the "lobby" is very minimal and not really well set up for using a computer.) We wanted a room with two beds and were told there wasn't one available so we were put in a triple room (three twin beds) and were far from happy that the cost for one night was 330 euros! We stayed in a couple IcelandAir hotels with full services and much better rooms at a lower cost so this, while a perfectly OK place to stay didn't, in my opinion, merit the price charged.

Room Tip: Pay attention when you book as to whether or not you have a private bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Now that I have finished my 12 day tour and stayed at all sorts of guesthouses, this would be 5 star in terms of cleanliness and view. Looking from the adjacent builidngs, location, and exterior, the place doesn't look like much. However, once you enter, it's a beautiful place. Modern and clean with a eating area that has lots of natural light. There's a spectacular view of the mountain. I agreed with everything reviewer "koochiehsian" wrote! All the above is a 5 star, but the owner is a bit nosy. She watches everything especially at breakfast. Dinner is pricey too, but there's nothing around....but it was good! We had cod with a side of salad and bread.

I would come back because it was so clean and modern.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here towards the end of May in room 8 with private washing facilities -cat III. The room was of reasonsble size but I could have enjoyed a little more space. It was warm and very very quiet. The bathroom/wetroom was brand new and was of very high standard. I enjoyed the shower system very much, but it may not be for everyone.

Breakfast was from 8 to 9 only. Nice touch with the freshly made waffle and fresh fruits. Coffee and tea are of high standard. We did not have dinner here as it will cost more than £70 for 2. But I am sure it will be nice. A few guests did eat there. We, however, had a great meal in Strondin Bistro and Bar in Vik. We also ate in Halldorskaffi, it was ok, but the menu was very limited.

What made this farmhouse magical was it location. It was stunning. Also the owners were very friendly and helpful in advising places to visit. But what made it even more special was that three little horses were born during our 3 days there.

Will defintely stay here again next time in Vik.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This place is abit out of the way, and is surrounded by older farmhouses. The guesthouse itself looks really modern, and it has obviously been designed by someone with taste. The rooms are clean, and the bathrooms are large! One thing to take note of is that the showers do spray a lot of water everywhere, and it will get all over the bathroom.

Breakfast is provided, with quite a huge spread of waffles and bread, but the owner is there staring at you while you eat, which can make it a bit of a strange experience. They also serve dinner, but 5900 ISK was way out of our price range. The only alternative is driving about 20 min to the town of Vik and trying to find somewhere to grab a bite, as there aren't any cooking facilities on site. We liked the grillhouse at N1!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guesthouse Vellir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Vellir

Address: Vellir, Vik 871, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated guesthouse in beautiful surroundings by Pétursey mountain. Beautiful view to Mýrdalsjökull glacier, Dyrhólaey and to the ocean. 3 double rooms and 2 triple rooms with private facilities. Also 4 double rooms with hand basin and shared facilities. Dinner and a breakfast buffet offered in a bright dining hall with a nice view.Breakfast: is between 8:00-9:00.Coffee: open all day.Dinner: We offer three course meal. From 19:00-21:00. Hot and cold drinks for sale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Guesthouse Vellir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse Vellir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.