We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse Vellir

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Guesthouse Vellir to your Saves list
Guesthouse Vellir
Vellir, Vik 871, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Vik B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We spent one night here in March. They might call it a guethouse, but this felt like a hotel to me.

The room was warm and clean. The beds were very soft, and the bathroom clean. The guesthouse had WiFi, though the signal was a bit weak in our room. The view from the rooms is excellent. The restaurant was good, but somewhat expensive. The breakfast was very very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    25
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
46
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at Guesthouse Vellir in March 2013. It is very close to Dyrholaey, but be advised that it is about a 10-minute drive to the road to Reynisdrangar, and another 10 minutes to the actual town of Vik. There was some pretty significant wind when we drove in, and lots of snow blowing around. You do have to drive over some windy, steep mountain roads to get to Vik, and it was pretty unnerving if you are not used to that.

The guesthouse is perfectly clean, very warm, and the owners are pretty nice, but just know that there really is nothing to do there other than look at the ponies grazing outside the window.

You can order a dinner there, but we ended up driving to Vik to eat at Hotel Lundi (which was really great, though not cheap). However, breakfast in the morning is included, and it was very nice! (granola, yogurt, coffee, juice, and plenty of cheese, meat, and veggies that I am sure you could use to make a sandwich for later in the day.) If you want something with a few more amenities, you really need to stay in Vik; but if you're looking for an affordable stopover for a South Coast driving trip, this is a good option.

Room Tip: Dinner must be ordered in advance; but you might as well just drive into Vik.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earth
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I saw that their set dinner menu was 5900kr. If you have no food, you'll have no choice but to pay up.

I would not stay in this guesthouse again. There was no kettle nor cups nor tv. Pathetic compared to other guesthouses we have stayed in the region. The bathroom was a wet mess after a shower because of the poorly designed shower area!

Only thing going for it was that the room was warm at night, and the northern lights appeared.

Breakfast in the morning was nothing to shout about either.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We were happy to find Vellir Guesthouse to stop at on our way around the Golden Circle. The hostess was very kind and helpful as we arrive very late.

The 3 bedroom was very modern an clean. Breakfast was fresh with a good selection of food.

We were here for one night in January but I can imagine the landscape to be even prettier in summer. 20 km from Vik and close to the glacier.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our first day on the Full Golden Circle tour. Touris booked Guesthouse Vellir for us and we were quite pleased with their choice. Our room had 3 single beds and a private bathroom. Very clean with a beautiful view. We arrived as the dining room was closing but were still able to get a much needed cup of hot tea and coffee. Beds were very comfortable.

Breakfast was a typical Icelandic breakfast and was very good. Staff were very friendly and could speak English.

This guesthouse is in a rural area without any restaurants nearby. If you want, you can prearrange a dinner meal. Once the dining room is closed for the evening, there is no where that one can get food or beverages or to warm up your own food. A kettle and tea and coffee in the room would have been nice. If the room had a kettle and beverages, I would have given Vellir an excellent rating.

I would definitely recommend this guesthouse to anyone and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

upon arrival, nothing was clear as to where to go to check in. the owner was nice, helped us calling a couple of places to book glacier walks. she also recommended places to go in the area.
the room was a bit small, and there was no soap for the shower. the shower did not have edges, so the bathroom gets pretty wet. there was a fancy shower head with five or six heads, but only one worked and not with a lot of pressure. breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Nice place with free breakfast. Breakfast was good and Dinner was about 59,000ISK extra. We passed on that though. Nothing else to eat around the area... so be aware. We bought some noodle cups and the owner was nice enough to lend us the kettle. Tried to check in early around noon but no one was around. We were the only ones staying in the guest house that night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Guesthouse Vellir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Vellir

Address: Vellir, Vik 871, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated guesthouse in beautiful surroundings by Pétursey mountain. Beautiful view to Mýrdalsjökull glacier, Dyrhólaey and to the ocean. 3 double rooms and 2 triple rooms with private facilities. Also 4 double rooms with hand basin and shared facilities. Dinner and a breakfast buffet offered in a bright dining hall with a nice view.Breakfast: is between 8:00-9:00.Coffee: open all day.Dinner: We offer three course meal. From 19:00-21:00. Hot and cold drinks for sale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Guesthouse Vellir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse Vellir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.