We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great selection and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 900 Grillhus/ToppPizzur

900 Grillhus/ToppPizzur
Vestmannabraut 23 | Www. 900grillhus. Is, Vestmannaeyjar, Iceland
482-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner
Description: A nice, small steakhouse/restaurant owned and run by locals.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great selection and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I hadn't eaten all day and after horseback riding and were starving. We stumbled by this place after wandering out of hotel and were surprised by the selection the had on the menu. We ordered the salted cod which was so fresh and delicious. We also got a pizza and the waitress was very accommodating with our extra toppings and side sauces. Prices weren't bad either.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    10
    12
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Trendy place with tasty food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

After a long day walking around Heimaey and climbing Helgafell we went for our stuff back to Hostel Vestmannaeyjar and asked for a close place to eat. "Just opposite" was the answer so we went.
The place is clean, modern, appropriately sized. We waited a bit for the order but it was a lunchime so it was to be expected. Me and my friend had a monkfish with (enormous!) baked potato and salad, the other friend had a beef sandwich (again, enormous!). Beer was tasty, so was the wine. The guy serving us was friendly and really nice, also best regards to the chef as the food was probably the best we had in a whole week driving around Iceland (and being sustained mainly by burgers and pylsa, so we enjoyed it a lot).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a lunch (monkfish and beef sandwich) at this restaurant on Westman Islands in March 2013 and it was georgeous! Very nice atmosphere and fare prices.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Þórir H, Manager at 900 Grillhus/ToppPizzur, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
That is really good to hear, you're always welcome come back whenever you're in Iceland.
And hopefully you had a pleasant time in Westman Island.

Kind regards, The Chef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“good pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We enjoyed the local scene and excellent pizza. Nice, casual, family restaurant. Centrally located. Get there early as it does get busy.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Trip to Vestmannaeyar worth it just for the burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Did you watch the "How I met your mother" episode where Marshall is looking for the restaurant which has the best burger ever? He should have come to this place.
We the Burger of the House and a chicken salad. Price within range you'd expect, bring enough hunger with you - portions are big

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 900 Grillhus/ToppPizzur also viewed

Vestmannaeyjar, Heimaey Island
Vestmannaeyjar, Heimaey Island
 
Vestmannaeyjar, Heimaey Island
Vestmannaeyjar, Heimaey Island
 

Been to 900 Grillhus/ToppPizzur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 900 Grillhus/ToppPizzur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.