We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively place, lots of great choices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tapas Barinn

Tapas Barinn
Vesturgotu 3b, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)
354-551-2344
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 323 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: European, Tapas, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lively place, lots of great choices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We are here on the first and last evenings of our two weeks in Iceland. Actually we drove in from Keflavik the last night.

This downstairs restaurant is crowded and rustic, but it is great for people watching, and the food is simply really good....whatever you get, in our experience. We opted for different tasting menus both nights, and sampled from each other's...everything was well prepared. On our first evening we tried some of the uniquely Icelandic offerings like puffin, minke whale, and reindeer to get that out of the way early. We tried these again elsewhere during or trip, sometimes prepared differently but never better than at Tapas Barinn.

We have spent a fair bit of time in Spain and were pleasantly surprised to see how well the tapas philosophy can be applied to Icelandic staples. The seafood is a natural transition, but the lamb and game meats worked wonderfully as well. There are many Spanish classics on the menu as well. The food selection and wine list are both long.

The bill was not overly expensive by Icelandic standards...we returned for the food quality and the atmosphere.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    246
    51
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hofn, Iceland
2 reviews
“Excellent food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Do try the lamb in liquorice sauce. It is amazing. Great range of choices and all cooked really well. Very good value for money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My boyfriend booked this for my birthday and it was lovely. We tried the hunter menu which was so much food. Brilliant service and so exciting to try real Icelandic food with a twist. The only issue it was too much food however we took our lovely deserts with us. Was pricey but very very nice:)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very unique...authentic Icelandic and Spanish tapas in one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Although not much from the outside, this very lively and cool Spanish themed bar and restaurant provides a different experience. The Icelandic pre-set tapas menu was a nice surprise and features many likely never previously tried tastes that are purely authentic. Add to this one or two other delicious Spanish plates and you have a rare and new "fusion" dining experience. The staff were very friendly and instructive about the choices at hand. A great value in Reykjavik, it should be tried for a fun evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“'Icelandic Gourmet Feast'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was chosen simply because I wanted to try Puffin and it seemed to be the only place around that did it. We tried the Icelandic Gourmet feast, and it was delicious, in fact the most disappointing dish was the Puffin, which was smoked and shredded and could quite honestly have been anything at all. That said, the other dishes were fantastic and I highly recommend a visit if you are in Reykjavik.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas Barinn also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Tapas Barinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tapas Barinn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.