We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service in Iceland + fun food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tapas Barinn

Tapas Barinn
Vesturgotu 3b, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)
354-551-2344
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 321 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: European, Tapas, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Miõborg
United States
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Best service in Iceland + fun food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Ate here with my mum rather early (16:30) and we were the only ones there, but the place started filling up by the time we left. It's a tapas bar so portions are a tad smaller, but meant to be shared by all. Also, this is the only place I tipped as the service was top-notch and the wait staff very friendly.

Like all things in Iceland, water is free & most tapas came with small salad with oil (I believe) as dressing. There is local, traditional Icelandic food on the menu & other international fare. Portion size was fine. THE BREAD AND HUMMUS WAS THE BEST I'VE EVER TASTED IN MY LIFE and complimentary when you order a meal.

Had puffin, a marinated chicken kebab, grilled aubergine/zucchini, baked potato, salad, and salmon ceviche with passion fruit. The ceviche was a bit odd -- not diced small or bite-sized, which I've never experience before. Also tried the dessert sampler WHICH WAS WONDERFUL and consisted of creme brulee, chocolate cake with berries, chocolate/vanilla fantacy and my favorite the local white chocolate skyr-mousse with passionfruit sauce and coulee. GET IT!

Was the typical price of most food in this area of Reykjavik. Dining out here is expensive regardless-- hey, it's an island!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    245
    49
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tapas Bar in the Middle of the Capital”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We went here for a light dinner on a recommendation from a friend. We were not disappointed. It is exceptionally cozy, the restaurant is very dim with candle light...which can be a nice break from the 24 hr sunlight in summer! We had the chicken spears, the salt fish, the beef in mushroom sauce and the bacon wrapped scallops, each was better than the next. The also give unlimited free bread basket with a humus and tapenade that were so good I wanted to take them home with me! The service was also excellent, our waitress was at our table every few minutes to check on us and brought us an extra dish we didn't order and she without question just asked us to please enjoy it and she'd take it off of our bill which she did. I would definitely come back again and its no wonder this is one of the restaurants in Reykjavik that his been around for many years. I can't wait to go back!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of the best places we've eaten!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

On our 20th wedding anniversary trip to Iceland we were spoilt for choice with so many lovely restaurants in and around Reykjavik town centre, however we eventually opted for tapas and thank goodness we did! My husband and I decided on theIcelandic Gourmet Feast - it was something pretty special indeed! Seven courses of the most amazing food we have ever tasted. We tasted puffin, whale, lamb, sea trout, lobster tails, blue ling and the most amazing white chocolate Skyr! All the dishes were cooked to perfection. Our severs Orri and Huld were just delightful - very friendly, chatty and just overall nice! As both of them knew it was our special wedding anniversary we were given a glass of Cava each and a beautifully presented selection of 5 desserts to try. They were all absolutely delicious! Thank you so much for helping to make our anniversary very special and memorable. If you're in Reykjavik give this place a try as you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittery, Maine
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Tapas were great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I had the Traveller menu and friend had the Hunter menu.
Very good food, and restaurant was a Tapas bar. Enjoyed all the courses but wish we had ordered the tasting menu!! Too many great courses!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good first meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

For our first dinner in Iceland we chose to experience the Icelandic Fiest. It was interesting trying the 7-8 different tapas it comes with like whale and puffin. Definitely a good place to start if you want to experience Icelandic food. All the staff were friendly and helpful as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas Barinn also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Tapas Barinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tapas Barinn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.