We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Successful family eatery since 1989” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 3 Frakkar Hja Ulfari

3 Frakkar Hja Ulfari
Baldursgata 14, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+354 552 3939
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 321 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: $0 - $126
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
South Africa
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Successful family eatery since 1989”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I had an amazing meal here 7 years ago. I was pleasantly surprised that it was still up and running! Had another good meal there last night. Started with dried shark. Terrible but a must do! Then lovely dried minke whale. Yes, yes, I know! Puffin breast was next. All great meals, tasty , well presented. Not very cheap, price around E140 per person each with wine. No coffee or desert. Reservations are recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    165
    32
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Be adventurous!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

If you want to try whale, horse, seabirds, and of course local seafood, then this is a great place to do so.

It took a while to track this place down and were pleasantly surprised it was open late on a Sunday evening. Not too many diners were present but perhaps it was the time or the day. Anyway we enjoyed ourselves with the seafood soup, smoked puffin, catfish (which my friend believes is the local name for wolffish), and peppered whale steaks.

The food was certainly not cheap (but that is Iceland) but the servings were ample, and given the point is to eat something 'different', well worth the cost.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Make a reservation!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

perhaps this is common sense for everyone else, but we didnt think we would need one and when we showed up without one the staff didnt seem very understanding- they said they might try to get us in in an hour but that they couldnt promise anything. that response is completely understandable and it was definitely our fault for not having made a reservation, but with nothing being near the restaurant to kill time at, we ended up walking back into downtown and eating elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable neighbourhood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I was looking for a place for dinner and was pleased to see that there was a highly rated place on Trip Advisor that was right in the neighbourhood we were staying. The restaurants on Rejkjavik's main street seem to be a rip off to me and geared toward the tourists. When we got to 3 Frakkar Hja Ulfari (weird name--is it the name or the address? Or both?) it was pretty much empty and I thought "Uh oh." That's generally not a good sign. But after we were seated in the cozy sun room it started to fill up. The place was jam packed by the time we left. Definitely a popular choice for diners. We both had fish dishes (you have to enjoy the fish while in Iceland) and they were both very good. The service was also very good and the lively atmosphere made for a really enjoyable experience. I'm so pleased to have found 3 Frakkar and would definitely recommend it to everyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“So Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was encouraged by the great reviews on Trip Advisor. I was so appalled by our meal that I had to double-check afterward to see if we had eaten at the correct place. I thought the menu was uninspired, the food was not that great, presentation was average to poor, service was brusque, atmosphere was virtually non-existent. Also, the restaurant had an unpleasant smell. We had many wonderful meals in Reykjavic and this was just a complete waste.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 3 Frakkar Hja Ulfari also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to 3 Frakkar Hja Ulfari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3 Frakkar Hja Ulfari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.