We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Appealing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Geysir Bistro and Bar

Geysir Bistro and Bar
Aoalstraeti 2, Reykjavik, Iceland (Miõborg)
+354 517 4300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 321 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Very Appealing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Easy, capable, informal restaurant with a variety of local and traditional dishes. As noted elsewhere, the do have a knack with mussels. Good beer and steaks, too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    215
    38
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“cozy atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We had an excellent dinner here. Mussels was one of the choices and they were wonderful. The atmosphere and service were very good. It was quite busy but we did not have to wait too long for our meals. highly recommend

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best salted codfish ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The relaxing atmosphere, combined with great service and surprising dishes. It was the best salted codfish I've ever had. And since I'm Brazilian... it means that I've been eating salted codfish for a long time. I would truly recommend it. No tourist trap here.
And I'm certainly coming back while I'm in Reykjavík.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The Shark attacked me here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was our first restaurant in Reykjavik and the staff were efficient and friendly. We tried the taster platter and everything was interesting and nothing was unpleasant, well till we got to the shark, which came in sealed pots which should have been warning enough. All I can say is that my mouth, nose, eyes and even my ears tasted those few morsels! It's definitely an experience.... The restaurant was however fantastic and I would happily go there again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kungalv, Sweden
1 review
“Perfect dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

This is a fantastic restaurant with great food and very helpful and friendly staff. The restaurant was full of guest but everything worked smoothly, we didn't need to wait for our dinner.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geysir Bistro and Bar also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Geysir Bistro and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geysir Bistro and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.