We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close and Casual” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Geysir Bistro and Bar

Geysir Bistro and Bar
Aoalstraeti 2, Reykjavik, Iceland (Háaleiti)
+354 517 4300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 321 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Háaleiti
Greenlawn, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Close and Casual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This was right around the corner from our hotel. The menu had many Icelandic items and both of our dishes were nicely prepared. My husband had the 3 types of herring, salted cod (just a sampling) and fermented shark (again, just a tidbit). I had creamy lobster soup with actual pieces of lobster. It was very nice as was the bread that came with it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    214
    38
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Situated in the center of Reykjavik, it is a well located restaurant. It is big but some tables are but quite close together. If you can have a table with some space, you will have a good experience. The waiters have to work hard but they are friendly and helpful. The food was also a good experience. We had fish and chips, the display on the plate was very nice.Service goes fast, so you will not have to spend your complete evening in at the table.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quiet place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was a quiet place to sit and enjoy lunch. It is the only place we found that offered "unlimited" coffee. We came here a few times for lunch as their soups were filling and excellent.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon
2 reviews
“Our favorite restaurant in Reykjavik”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had dinner 1 night and liked it so much we went back another night. We had the lamb, wiener schnitzel, and lobster. All the food was excellent and filling, but not too much that we were stuffed. Reservations are recommended on the weekends, since it seems to be popular.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
323 helpful votes 323 helpful votes
“Food average, waitress service very variable, poor value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

My wife and I went here twice, purely because the first time it was OK and the second time it was convenient, being one of the nearest eating places to our hotel at a time when we returned from a trip mid-evening.

The food was average, nothing special, and on our first visit the waitress service was quite friendly. But the second time, when we arrived at 8pm rather than 6.30pm, things were very different; people seem to eat early in Iceland and we were amongst the last to come in.

Perhaps this was why we received our main courses within 10 minutes of ordering, we had to find a waitress to ask for the dessert menu, when we did so she was clearly not impressed, and after being given our desserts we were totally ignored. In order to pay, I had to go to the bar, and interrupt the two waitresses who were just chatting to each other (and had been doing so for some time). I was then just told the total amount verbally and had to actually ask for a bill to check. Perhaps they wanted to close early (it was now about 9.15pm)?

Our meals with wine cost about double what I would expect to pay for a similar experience at home in England and the total price was almost exactly the same as at the vastly better Skolabru Restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geysir Bistro and Bar also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Geysir Bistro and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geysir Bistro and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.