We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Austur India Fjelagid

Austur India Fjelagid
Hverfisgata 56, Reykjavik, Iceland (Miõborg)
5521630
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 323 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Quite a different menu from the usual Rogan Josh, Biryanis and Madras curries usually available. I was going to go for one of the curried fish dishes but the waiter suggested I try another salmon dish and was I glad I did! The four blackened lumps that arrived did not look like much - but OMG it was unbelievably delicious. My husband went for the lamb shank and we had it with rice and garlic nan bread and everything was not only tasty but not overpowered by heat. Every bite was incredible and well worth the £70 we paid for a three beers, two mains, bread and poppadums - I have certainly paid more for less and will definitely go back if I am in Reykjavik again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    40
    18
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Perfectly cooked meats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Recommended by a colleague in Toronto we came here on our last night on holiday in Iceland, as they were closed over the Christmas days. As promised the food was delicious and the bill, expensive.

We started with a lobster appetiser, the lobster was perfectly cooked. We tried the mixed tandoori grill - 3 pieces of lamb and 3 of chicken, two styles each. We had a fish curry (salmon) where the fish was perfectly cooked. We also had a vegetable dish and garlic naan (dripping in butter). We drank mango lassi and had steamed rice too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

An excellent Indian meal a little bit different from the typical meat and sauce you get in lots of places in England. Spicy and flavoursome, even for my spice-wary girlfriend.

I probably wouldn't worry about starters if I went again, nice, but not a patch on the main courses. The daal is highly recommended.

Try the IPA (ul fur) a tasty companion.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in an unlikely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Visited here in November. Having looked at reviews on TA and then looked at menu really fancied the food. We were not disappointed. Beautiful flavoursome food that left many different spice tastes on your palate. Would recommend. When I got there I realised I had visited before 18 months ago and if anything the food had only got better. Expensive but then most places in Iceland are so if you are going to spend a decent amount of money you may as well have excellent food

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Worth finding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We decided to eat here because of the Trip Advisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. The seating is a bit basic but the food was delicious and they made an Aloo Gobi for us even though it wasn't on the menu. Popular place so worth booking (our hotel did that for us).

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Austur India Fjelagid also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Austur India Fjelagid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austur India Fjelagid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.