We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in Reykjavik” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Austur India Fjelagid

Austur India Fjelagid
Hverfisgata 56, Reykjavik, Iceland (Miõborg)
5521630
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 348 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Miami, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best food in Reykjavik”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My wife and I ate here on our last night in Reykjavik and it was excellent. This was the best restaurant around and the best Indian food I've had. Service was excellent. If you like Indian food you can't go wrong here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    47
    20
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dakar, Senegal
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent meal. Try the salmon - its outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had a number of excellent meals in Reykjavik and this was definitely up there. Very enjoyable meal, with the salmon main course a particular highlight. All in all very good food, very friendly and helpful service. Would definitely recommend and visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great Food but seating so uncomfortable. . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

This place serves fantastic indian food although I did not see any sign of an indian chef but what the hell ..the food tastes great. However the seating is basic and uncomfortable but put a cushion on the seat and it's tolerable and the food is worth any discomfort. Very popular with locals as a take away.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“The best Indian Food Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband had mixed grill and I asked for chicken korma, even though it wasn't on the menu. They were happy to make it for me and both our dinner's were delicious. They were better than anything we had in the states. Service was also excellent and the decor was really nice too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The food was terrific. Everything was delicious, but service was a bit slow. We were sitting in the back of the restaurant which was very dimly lit and I looked up and noticed someone who just come out of the bathroom. She was wearing big dark sunglasses and a hat. I said that she looked like Yoko Ono. She was Yoko Ono.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Austur India Fjelagid also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Austur India Fjelagid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austur India Fjelagid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.