We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian I have EVER had .... period!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Austur India Fjelagid

Austur India Fjelagid
Hverfisgata 56, Reykjavik, Iceland (Miõborg)
5521630
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 320 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Miõborg
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Indian I have EVER had .... period!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

A staffer at the 101 Hotel recomemnded this restaurant. She indicated it would be very good. However, I had no idea it would be as good as it was!! A short walk from our hotel and what an amazing meal. The wait staff was excellent, very attentive but not overdone! Fast and very courteous service. Amazingly fresh food. It's not cheap but I don't mind paying when it's this good!! I wish I could go back now!! I'll forever be spoiled and have my doubts that another Indian restaurant will ever be this good. I have been to MANY over many years and none have even come close to Austur India Fjelagid!!! Many thanks to the owner, chef and staff for an unforgettable meal in the northernmost Indian restaurant on the planet!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    47
    20
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Having tried curries wherever we go, we had to pay this place a visit.The lady who greeted us was friendly & helpful as the menu was a bit different from normal & she explained what was what.Lovely food in a nice atmosphere & the place was packed which is a great sign.Highly recommend if you love curry !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This Indian restaurant is the best in the world and I have tried Indian food all over the world. It is better than most of the places I tried in India. The Naan bread is so good, soft and delicious.
Mmmmm....

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food we have ever eaten!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our family of four have eaten indian food all over the world. It is amazing to us that the best we have ever eaten is in Iceland at this restaurant! The service and the food could not be faulted. The waiters were friendly and always attentive. The superb quality of the ingredients is what make the food so delicious. The tandoori salmon is not something we would normally order, but we ordered it based on the New York Times review and it was delicious. The lentils and spinach dishes were equally as good. All the vegetables were fresh which is not common in Iceland as everything has to be shipped in. If you like Indian food, do not miss this restaurant!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Well this is not Indian as we know it in England but according to my partner more Indian than the restaurants in England. We were pleasantly surprised by the superb tasting food and the quiet unobstrusive service we received in this restaurant and is well worth a visit when you finally want a different taste than most restaurants offer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Austur India Fjelagid also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Austur India Fjelagid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austur India Fjelagid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.