We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian in Iceland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Italia

Italia
Laugavegi 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
552-4630
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #164 of 320 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: $0 - $70
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Italian in Iceland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was in town for the Reykjavik half-marathon and in search of pasta. I asked our hotel and this spot was recommended. If I'd had more time in Reykjavik, I may have gone back for a pizza! I had the carbonara and my boyfriend just had desert. Both were really good, generous portions and our waitress was attentive and friendly. As mentioned in other reviews, downstairs is small, but the wait isn't as long as you expect because of the upstairs seating (which would be where I'd ask to sit!). Not a big seafood eater, so this was a welcome break from lamb :) If you're in Reykjavik or Iceland for a bit of time and find yourself craving non-Icelandic suisine, this is a good choice.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    79
    34
    12
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food. Charming Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Selected this restaurant because it was convenient to our hotel. What a lucky choice! The food was well prepared and every thing one could hope for (spaghetti Bolognese served in a deep bowl, a large Calzone and lasagna.)

Wait staff was up-beat, helpful and had a great sense of humor. (ask the hostess about the "table of doom")

Enjoyed it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Look no further for a relaxing dinner at reasonable cost and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This appears to be the only restaurant with (real) wood-fired pizzas. Great atmosphere and buzz, warm lighting, very friendly femals service staff and an Italian Chef at the Pizza oven. Food is wholesome good home cooked Italian food. No fancy, overpriced creations here! Prices are very reasonable. Restaurant is easy to find along the main shopping street. We enjoyed our meal and can recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A taste of Italia 66 degrees North.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

After a four hour trip whale watching (they were shy on the day) we were cold and hungry. Spotted an Italian restaurant in Reykjavik - so in we went! I had a Spaghetti Bolognese and my son and his girl-friend had a pizza each. I succumbed to a pint of pepsi (wild thing!) whilst the other two went for free water that was supported by an iced serving bottle to the side. The food was honest Italian fair. The pizza oven had provided a thin baked pizza base that was enjoyed. My bowl of Spag. Bol. was plentiful and accompanied by a slice of interesting (compared to the usual serving the bread was not the standard type) of garlic bread. The service was attentive and the senior gentleman present sang in Italian, as he moved round the restaurant, providing for a pleasant 45 minutes in from the cold. Iceland is expensive and so a similar meal in the U.K. would have cost around £26 whilst in Iceland the price was nearer £42. That said it’s known that Iceland is expensive and prices may well be similar elsewhere or indeed even more. I would definitely recommend “Italia”.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Italian food... who'd have thought!?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Excellent pizzas. Easily one of the better pizza places in Iceland if not the best one. I hear their pastas are good too but I've never tried.

Service is exemplary and the setting is warm and cozy.

It's a bit pricey in my view but during winters they have 50% off pizzas and pastas in the Lunch hours.

It's popular so reservations are in order.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italia also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.