We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food... but the service, not so much” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ban Thai

Ban Thai
Laugavegur 130, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
+354 5522444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #168 of 321 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food... but the service, not so much”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Fine food, but we had to go downstairs to remind the server we hadn't given our order after 20 minutes of playing "geography" at the table with our kids. The food arrived a reasonable speed but we had to chase up the server downstairs for the dessert and gave up on the bill and just walked downstairs and paid on our way out. The pad thai was delicious, as was the chicken with lemon sauce.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    39
    23
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
“worst service ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Awaited over 30 minutes for order to be taken. Starters did not arrive until over 90 minutes later. Despite multiple requests for when food would be ready, ignored by waiting staff.

Food mediocre at best when finally arrived.

Would not recommend to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious, authentic flavours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I went here after the place I was planning to go for dinner was closed due to a sick family member. Disappointed, I asked a local friend where to go and he suggested this place. I did take-away back to my apartment (it's nice that they have a menu specially for that also). I had the Green Chicken Curry and it was fantastic. Aprox $20 CAD for most dishes there. Nice to have a change of flavours during your stay and this one won't disappoint.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Thai food but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This place had pretty good thai food (the drunken noodle is pretty spicy). The service is not fabulous, but the waitress did refill my water just as I felt I could no longer take the fire in my mouth. My dish was quite spicy but was pretty yummy. The prices are not cheap here and the portions are not large but the quality is good. Also, prepare to wait a bit for the food as this is not a fast food type place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Had great Thai food at this restaurant. Open only at night, took some time to prepare the food but the wait was worthwhile.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ban Thai also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Ban Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ban Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.