We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved staying here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forsaela Apartmenthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Forsaela Apartmenthouse to your Saves list
Forsaela Apartmenthouse
Grettisgata 35b, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Loved staying here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at a hotel during our first stay in Reykjavik but chose Forsaela apartments for the second stay and were delighted with our choice. The apartments (our family had one across the hall from my sister's family) were spotlessly clean, artfully decorated, and thoughtfully stocked with books, light blocking shades, kitchenware, grocery staples, and the beds - even the sofa bed - super comfortable. Having a kitchen made a huge difference, both in cost and comfort, and a Bonus grocery store and Sandholdt bakery were just around the corner on the main shopping street - Laugevegur. One of the big public pools (Sunhollin)is just a couple of blocks walking, as is the cathedral, Harpa, downtown - all an easy walk. We enjoyed being on a residential street and not in the downtown tourist district this time. The owners, Hlin and Siggi, are the warmest, most helpful and knowledgable hosts you can imagine without being intrusive. We emailed back and forth with Hlin until we got just the right accomodations for our families, directions on how to get there, suggestions on things to do and where to go. She organized a such a fantastic day trip to the south, designed specifically to our interests, that we wish we had more days to travel with Siggi as our guide. When we departed, we felt we were leaving behind new friends. We are pretty picky travelers but couldn't find anything negative here - heartily recommend Forsaela apartments and would, and hopefully will, enthusiastically stay here again!

Room Tip: There are a couple of stairs at the entrance if that is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hlin G, Owner at Forsaela Apartmenthouse, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear friends of Forsaela.

I'm sorry for the delay in replying to the wonderful review you posted months ago.
Informative and accurate in all details, warm and rewarding for me and Siggi as hosts.

It was a great pleasure to organise a guided day tour for the two families, happily connecting the different interests of everyone and experiencing your keen interest in both nature and the Icelandic culture. Our 4x4 Toyota Hiace fits just right for all seasons in Iceland and suites well for up to eight people. Siggi is an experienced driver guide, knowledgable and enthusiastic about nature and culture as well as all kinds of outdoor activities, cave exploring,biking, hiking...... this was a great day for everyone!

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
20
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week when we visited Reykjavik in August. The owner Hlin was wonderful - really nice, helpful and accommodating. She stayed up to greet us when we arrived at 1am and provided us with a delicious breakfast spread (literally, anything you could want was there!) the next morning even though we came in later than she expected. She also gave us some suggestions on tours to take and where to find things/food on the high street. The apartment was very centrally located (a 20sec or less walk to Laugavegur), warm, cozy, and well stocked and furnished. It felt very homey. I loved the garden/seating areas outside as well - very quaint and perfect for enjoying a sunny day! I'd definitely recommend this apartment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hlin G, Owner at Forsaela Apartmenthouse, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear friends of Forsaela.

It has been a while since you stayed with us and I'm sorry for not replying earlier to your positive review. I wish to thank you for taking time to write and for paying attention to the small details, we take pride in as hosts.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed in the little apartment that Forsaela Offers and then on our return trip we stayed in the main house at the B&B. Both experiences were great! The owner Hlin, was lovely! She was very attentive and helpful. She really made us feel at home. The apartment was well furnished and equipped with a washing machine, full kitchen, living room with a tv and some board games, bathroom with shower, and upstairs loft area for sleeping. On our return after our travels around Iceland we stayed in the main house. Hlin was very helpful with ideas of what to do in the area. It is centrally located and walking distance from center of Reykjavik. It was a great experience and if I'm ever back in Reykjavik I will definitely be staying at the Forsaela Apartments again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hlin G, Owner at Forsaela Apartmenthouse, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear friends of Forsaela.

Even time has passed, your review of a "wonderful stay" with us remains, and I would like to thank you and let you know that I appreciate that you took time to write.
I'm pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in both one of our apartments as well as in a room of B&B accommodation.
Forsaela offers different option of accommodation in a collocated premises, within a peaceful private garden in the city center of Reykjavik. Our three one bedroom apartments are available for a minimum stay of three nights while three rooms as B&B accommodation are available for a stay of only one night. There is as well the little house / cottage that suits families up to 6 people.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the apartment house at Forsaela for the duration of our week long stay in Reykjavik. Hiln and Siggi were exceptional hosts. The apartment we stayed in was a one bedroom (sleeping loft style) with a kitchen and living space. It was clean and thoughtfully decorated. It was also in a great location as it was central to everything in the city, but far away enough from the bars that we could sleep without much noise. The hosts are wonderful people and don't mind taking a few minutes to chat with you. If you are in Reykjavik for any amount of time I would recommend this place over any other hotel. If apartments aren't your thing there is also a main house that is a traditional bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hlin G, Owner at Forsaela Apartmenthouse, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear friends of Forsaela.

I'm sorry for the delay in replying to your wonderful review.
Time has passed but your expression of “Wonderful apartment home and wonderful hosts” remains.
Thank you for your kind words of recommendation.

I'm looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in a two room apartment with a sleeping loft which was great for two adults and one four year old. The apartment was fully equipped with everything we needed and the supermarket was very close. Very cozy place in the older parts of Reykjavik, it was a great experience lying in bed listening to the rain fall on the roof :) If we ever come back to Reykjavik we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hlin G, Owner at Forsaela Apartmenthouse, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear friends of Forsaela.

I'm sorry for this late rely to your "super nice" review. Thank you for taking time to share your experience with others. Even sunshine is preferred, I agree with you it is "a great experience lying in bed listening to the rain fall on the roof :) " :)

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisorough Green
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful break in Iceland. Our stay at the Apartmenthouse was fantastic. Forsaela is a real gem and only a few minutes walk from the main shopping street and restaurants in downtown Reykjavik. Hlin and Siggi are wonderful hosts and their passion for Iceland and its heritage shines through in everything they are doing at Forsaela. If you want a taste of authentic Iceland and accommodation that is cosy, clean and full of character, go for Forsaela Apartmenthouse. We left feeling that our hosts had become friends.

We did a wonderful hiking tour with Siggi in the hills and valleys north of Hverageroi. It was a fantastic day and bathing in the hot springs is a memory that will stay with us. If you're looking for a private tour, drop them an e-mail before your stay. They came up with some fantastic suggestions, away from the main tourist tours.

John Hamilton and Barbara Mead

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiden, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were a group of 10 divers spending 5 days in the three appartements and the little house. Hlin has been greeting us in her lovley and kind manner, and we felt at home right away. She did everything to make us happy: Starting with a great breakfast in the cosy living room up to washing some fishy smelling clothes. We could also use her drying room to hang up diving equipment. In the living room of the little house there was enough room for the 10 of us to sit together and have a first look at the pictures taken during the dive day and having a last goodnight-drink. When we left for 2 day in the middle of the week for a trip up north, we were aloud to leave stuff in the house we didn't need up north, what made it a lot easier. Leaving after a week war realy hard, Hlin was just great an not be around her any more made us all sad. If we come to Island again, there is no other place than staying with Hlin! Thanks again for everything!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hlin G, Owner at Forsaela Apartmenthouse, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear group of divers. Thank you for your heartwarming comments and appreciation. It was truly a great experience to get to know you. Your adventurous spirit, professionality and organisation of every detail impressed me and I was happy to be able to assist about some little things. During your stay you visited many different driving spots, the extraordinary Silfra, lake Kleifarvatn and some areas along the coast. It was a privilage to have you as guests of Forsaela and to get a glimpse Into the magical world of driving. Best wishes, I'll be looking forward to meeting you again some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forsaela Apartmenthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forsaela Apartmenthouse

Address: Grettisgata 35b, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Forsaela Apartmenthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forsaela Apartmenthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.