We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forsaela Apartmenthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Forsaela Apartmenthouse to your Saves list
Forsaela Apartmenthouse
Grettisgata 35b, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Staying in this charming little traditional house situated just off the main shopping street has been a highlight of our stay. Convenient for walking to restaurants, harbour and other city centre tourist attractions as well as the bus station, and groceries can be bought just around the corner. There is a washing machine, cooker, fridge. Facilities for cooking your own meals, if you don't want to go to restaurants every night. Our hosts Hlin and Siggy were most welcoming, frindly and helpful. They will provide directions, advice and will help arrange tours as well as make reservations, etc. From the airport you can take the bus to Reykjavik central bus station where you change to a minibus that takes you straight to Forsaela Appartment Houses - just buy your ticket at the airport right outside bagage claim and get on the bus, and remember to buy a plus ticket that includes the 5 minutes minibus trip to Forsaela. Whether you are a couple, single or family Forsaela is the place to stay and we hope to come back soon and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. We'll definitely recommend this lovely place to everyone who is going to Reykjavik. Enjoy! We certainly did and we'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hlin G, Owner at Forsaela Apartmenthouse, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear friends of Forsaela. Thank you for a wonderful review. Full of warmth, very accurate and informative for our future guests. Our little house / cottage is the smallest hose by the Grettisgata street, built in 1906 and for many years it was the home of a craftsman family that built the house and where they brought up their 10 children. The house has undergone major restoration by ourselves and today it fits comfortably for 4-6 persons, with quality beds and modern amenities.

We look forward to your return.
You can be sure to find again your little "Home away from home" with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
20
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This compact apartment is in the centre of Reykjavik and convenient for walking to the bus station, harbour, restuarants and other city centre tourist attractions. There is a small washing machine, fridge, cooker and airer but no dishwasher. The owner speaks good English.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hlin G, Owner at Forsaela Apartmenthouse, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear friend of Forsaela. Thank you for taking time to write a review emphasizing the well appointed location of our guesthouse and amenities. I truly appreciate your compliment for my english. We take pride in communicating with guests in their own language, whenever this is possible and apart from english, we speak german, italian and scandinavian languages.
We'll be pleased to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Staying in the Forseala apartments was a highlight of our stay. Lovely airy Scandinavian/Icelandic style apartment in a restored traditional house in a real neighborhood. Just a block away from the main shopping street, it was easy to buy groceries and to explore the town center on foot. Hlin and Siggy were friendly hosts, very helpful in advance to assure us that the apartment had excellent black out curtains so it was easy to sleep despite the long summer daylight. Siggy gave us a lift to see the Perla site overlooking town. A great place for a couple or family to stay and cook meals. They let us use their new gas grill so we could grill dinner. I couldn't imagine staying in a hotel far from the center of things, after having the pleasure of staying at the Foseala. We definitely recommend this as a divine place to stay.The nearby streets are named for characters in Norse myths and the neighborhood goes by the name of their special mythic home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hlin G, Owner at Forsaela Apartmenthouse, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear friends of Forsaela.
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and for giving our future guests a look into our property and how we try to create a special experience for each and every guest. Thank you for your recommendations and all your fantastic feedback.
Me and Siggi look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We've visited Reykjavik many times and have always found a warm welcome at Forsaela. The apartments are a great place to use as a base for visting the city or venturing out on day trips. Although a single traveler would benefit as much as others from the central location, ability to cook and the non-hotel feel, couples or a family wanting extra space would be very wise to stay here. Hlin and Siggi will provide directions, advice and will even help arrange tours, make reservations, etc. They have a way of being there when you need them. The breakfasts are great and you have them in a traditional Icelandic house. I really have never had a single complaint. We love the place and can't see why one wouldn't. Parking has never been a problem. But, with such a central location, you really do not need a car when you are just visiting the city. You can take the bus from the airport to downtown and a five minute taxi to Forsaela. There is no question, this is clearly the best place to stay in Reykjavik.

Room Tip: If you have a family - the 'little house' is a great selection. Pool within walking distan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hlin G, Owner at Forsaela Apartmenthouse, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear friends from Guam, for may years loyal friends of our guesthouse Forsaela. Thank you for posting a wonderful thought through review. Our guesthouse, Forsaela House & Apartments offers different options to choose from. Located in a peaceful private garden in the 101 Reykjavik area it is truly well appointed. When traveling for business you choose our B&B, when traveling in two or three you have felt comfortable in one of our three apartments and for the vacation with the whole family our little house / cottage has been your perfect home away from home.

Me and Siggi look forward to seeing you next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roussillon, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Lovely place to land in Reykjavik - right in the center, but on a quiet street in a lovely little house. Hlin and Sigurd were great - warm and welcoming, full of smiles and advice. The small apartment was very clean, well appointed, and comfortable. I highly recommend these apartments!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hlin G, Owner at Forsaela Apartmenthouse, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear friends of Forsaela. Thank you for your lovely comments and appreciation.
We take great pleasure in welcoming guests and advising about things to do in and out of the city.
Forsaela is "well appointed" as a base for a short break and a longer stay. You don't need a car to go around the town and from here you can make many different day tours to visit sites of interest.

Me and Siggi look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

My sister & I took our mother on a surprise trip to Reykjavik, we arrived very late but Hlin was happy to pick us up from the bus station. This was the perfect start to a perfect stay.
Apart from Hlins generosity the accomodation is great! Clean, welcoming, traditional & with everything you could need.
The shopping centre restaurants & bars are just arund the corner :)
We really couldn't have asked for a better stay.
Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Forsaela Apartmenthouse, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear friends of Forsaela. Thank you for a wonderful review. We are always present to welcome our guest when they arrive and we are happy if we are able to do a little extra to make the stay more enjoyable. Every guest, for us, is a special guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kouvola, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We spent two nights at Forsaela and it was just perfect. The little house where we stayed was charming and the location was excellent, all the shops and restaurants were right around the corner. We had a very early flight when we left back home but Hlin made the breakfast ready - all we needed to do was turn on the coffeemaker. If I go back to Reykjavik, I definitely choose Forsaela Apartmenthouse to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Forsaela Apartmenthouse, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear friends of Forsaela. Thank you for for taking time to write and to share your positive review.
Whenever you wish to feel as part of the community, in a friendly and peaceful neighborhood, we will be here to welcome you. We are here for you!

Hlin & Siggi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Forsaela Apartmenthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forsaela Apartmenthouse

Address: Grettisgata 35b, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Forsaela Apartmenthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forsaela Apartmenthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.