We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Icelandic Fish & Chips

Icelandic Fish & Chips
Tryggvagotu 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)
+345 5 11 11 18
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 320 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Description: We opened in December 2006. Our goal was to provide fresh and healthy food made with the best available Icelandic ingredients. There was never a question it would be all about fish, fish clearly being our best stuff in Iceland. Borrowing a bit from our neighbours the Brits to make it possible for us to serve a quick meal in bistro style, we went for the simplest of available delights: fish'n chips. But we have changed it a bit. The batter is not the regular one, but our own simplified version without eggs but lots of spelt-spelt being a more complicated carb than regular wheat and therefore crisping up better in the frying oil. Oil-wise, we stay away from Omega 6-laden vegetable oils...Because in the western diet we consume way too much Omega 6. We use rapeseed oil for its tolerance to heat and its Omega 3. And then there's the potatoes: oven-roasted in wedges, and tossed in freshly cut parsley and the locally made salt from Saltverk. We don't wanna fry them because they are high in carbs. Unlike protein-based fish, carbs soak up oil like sponges; we know that oil is essential to our diets, but we really don't wanna overdo it. Anyways, oven-roasted potatoes keep better the potato flavor and we love potato flavor. To us salads are essential to any meal heavily laden with Omega 3. Therefore we offer a selection of salads to everyone's taste. Last but not least our dips are made from skyr, technically fresh cheese, but a uniquely Icelandic milk product that for ages we have treated a bit like yogurt. It is a virtually fat-free protein base that we generously mix with good oils such as extra virgin olive oil, coconut oil and sesame oil, according to what flavor we are mixing in. Everything on the menu is made in our kitchen with the best possible ingredients we can find.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We went here on our first night, they didn't have a table for 7 so we split into two. It was very busy with a queue out the door just after we arrived. You choose the fish you fancy, and a side dish and a dip to go with it. The tour guide we had the following day then recommended this restaurant as the best in Iceland!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    677
    728
    214
    69
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Fish & chips & beer. Very casual. Organic. Tasty. Especially liked the choices of dips.
Close to Whale watching, but doesn't open until 5pm.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Top place for Fish & Chips!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Really enjoyed this "quaint" little café. Not easy finding a place to eat Friday night in town if you haven't booked, but were lucky to get a table here. Very hearty, simple food - all they serve is various versions of fish & chips, with tasty sauces etc. to go with it. Very reasonably priced as well. Don't really understand why someone would go to a regular fast food chain, when you can go here and eat top notch fish. Lively place a Friday night, but not noisy. Friendly staff!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Dip Sampler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I went to Icelandic Fish & Chips on our first night in Reykjavik. We could not decide on a dip to go with our fish so we opted for the sampler dip plate.....we would highly recommend it! They were all fabulous! I had the plaice and my husband had the cod....the cod was fantastic! It was busy, and the food was really good for the price (the restaurants in Iceland seem to be very pricey)! However, before heading out for dinner at IF&C we asked both our bus driver on the fly bus coming into Reykjavik and the front desk at our hotel and neither of them had been there but both commented on how busy it always seems to be. That had us a little worried at first, but the food speaks for itself! Highly recommend going for good, fresh food for a good price!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Elevated fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

This place does a lovely version of fish and chips, served on modern plates in a modern atmosphere. Batter was incredibly light and the fish flaky and delicious. Onion rings were superb. Definitely don't forget to buy a dipping sauce or two. The only annoying part was having to pay extra for condiments.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icelandic Fish & Chips also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Icelandic Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icelandic Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.