We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Icelandic Fish & Chips

Icelandic Fish & Chips
Tryggvagotu 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)
+345 5 11 11 18
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 321 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Description: We opened in December 2006. Our goal was to provide fresh and healthy food made with the best available Icelandic ingredients. There was never a question it would be all about fish, fish clearly being our best stuff in Iceland. Borrowing a bit from our neighbours the Brits to make it possible for us to serve a quick meal in bistro style, we went for the simplest of available delights: fish'n chips. But we have changed it a bit. The batter is not the regular one, but our own simplified version without eggs but lots of spelt-spelt being a more complicated carb than regular wheat and therefore crisping up better in the frying oil. Oil-wise, we stay away from Omega 6-laden vegetable oils...Because in the western diet we consume way too much Omega 6. We use rapeseed oil for its tolerance to heat and its Omega 3. And then there's the potatoes: oven-roasted in wedges, and tossed in freshly cut parsley and the locally made salt from Saltverk. We don't wanna fry them because they are high in carbs. Unlike protein-based fish, carbs soak up oil like sponges; we know that oil is essential to our diets, but we really don't wanna overdo it. Anyways, oven-roasted potatoes keep better the potato flavor and we love potato flavor. To us salads are essential to any meal heavily laden with Omega 3. Therefore we offer a selection of salads to everyone's taste. Last but not least our dips are made from skyr, technically fresh cheese, but a uniquely Icelandic milk product that for ages we have treated a bit like yogurt. It is a virtually fat-free protein base that we generously mix with good oils such as extra virgin olive oil, coconut oil and sesame oil, according to what flavor we are mixing in. Everything on the menu is made in our kitchen with the best possible ingredients we can find.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had our first dinner in Iceland here and really enjoyed our food and service. The rosemary chips were really tasty and the fish, although fried, did not taste greasy at all. Also try the special Icelandic yogurt dessert!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    610
    170
    60
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Nice & quirky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This restaurant on Tryggvagata is unprepossessing from the outside but once inside it is welcoming and friendly. There are many varieties of fish on offer depending on the daily catch - we had delicious cod in a light batter with a Greek salad and oven baked wedges. Prices were reasonable and the restaurant works on a self serve ethos - choose the food and then order at the counter. Prices are reasonable and all the food is cooked to order.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Tasty...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Tripadvisor's previous reviews led me to check out this establishment. Not far from the Volcano House so you can have both experiences.
Was my first meal in Iceland and I really liked the Cod done in the light batter with crispy chips and tarta dip. Will definately go back....

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Sadly our visit was very disappointing. We went mid afternoon when there was only one other diner in the restaurant and we were served with fish and chips within a minute of taking our seats. They had obviously been cooked up and reheated. The batter was chewy and the fish sloppy. After reading so many positive reviews I would say this was just a bit of bad luck on our part in turning up at that time of day. The waitress was very friendly which was about the only plus point.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Great value and quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A distinctly Icelandic -- almost quirky -- take on traditional fish and chips. The multiple sauces and choices of fish are unique. The "chips" are oven potatoes and are an option in addition to salads, making the meal healthier. Decent wine and local beer. Casual location across the street from the Waterfront, where other dining choices abound. Great value for Reykjavik, especially given the quality and cooking of the fish. My partner and I have been to Icelandic Fish and Chips during each of our visits to Reykjavik over the past two years. Very consistent!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icelandic Fish & Chips also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Icelandic Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icelandic Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.