We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ling-tastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Icelandic Fish & Chips

Icelandic Fish & Chips
Tryggvagotu 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)
+345 5 11 11 18
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 323 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Description: We opened in December 2006. Our goal was to provide fresh and healthy food made with the best available Icelandic ingredients. There was never a question it would be all about fish, fish clearly being our best stuff in Iceland. Borrowing a bit from our neighbours the Brits to make it possible for us to serve a quick meal in bistro style, we went for the simplest of available delights: fish'n chips. But we have changed it a bit. The batter is not the regular one, but our own simplified version without eggs but lots of spelt-spelt being a more complicated carb than regular wheat and therefore crisping up better in the frying oil. Oil-wise, we stay away from Omega 6-laden vegetable oils...Because in the western diet we consume way too much Omega 6. We use rapeseed oil for its tolerance to heat and its Omega 3. And then there's the potatoes: oven-roasted in wedges, and tossed in freshly cut parsley and the locally made salt from Saltverk. We don't wanna fry them because they are high in carbs. Unlike protein-based fish, carbs soak up oil like sponges; we know that oil is essential to our diets, but we really don't wanna overdo it. Anyways, oven-roasted potatoes keep better the potato flavor and we love potato flavor. To us salads are essential to any meal heavily laden with Omega 3. Therefore we offer a selection of salads to everyone's taste. Last but not least our dips are made from skyr, technically fresh cheese, but a uniquely Icelandic milk product that for ages we have treated a bit like yogurt. It is a virtually fat-free protein base that we generously mix with good oils such as extra virgin olive oil, coconut oil and sesame oil, according to what flavor we are mixing in. Everything on the menu is made in our kitchen with the best possible ingredients we can find.
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Ling-tastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Fresh cod and ling in batter, crunchy spiced onion rings and herbed roast potatoes, accompanied by the homemade agave nectar lemonade. Simply delicious and simply served.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    612
    171
    61
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Simple decor and surroundings but tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We had a simple cod an chips although other fish were available. The chips are more like oven roast potatoes in a choice of flavours eg rosemary or garlic etc. Very tasty and worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Icelandic Fish & Chips is down by the harbor in the less busy part of the city. The fish was done perfectly and you could help yourself to glasses of water at a table by the front. It seemed like most of the patrons were locals. While the food was really good it didn't have a "fun" atmosphere so while you could get a good, more reasonably priced dinner than some of the other restaurants, as a tourist it would have been nice if it was a bit more lively.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb fish and top value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Lovely fresh fish right opposite the harbour. The cod melted in the mouth and the batter was thin and crispy. There is a choice of fish, a choice of potatoes, and dips and salads. The setting is in what appears to be an old industrial building, so somewhat lacking in atmosphere but busy enough that you know out has to be good. Partial self-service helps keep the cost down.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good fish, but no real "chips"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We enjoyed the fish (cod & red fish), but my husband was disappointed there were no real chips - the potatoes are oven-roasted & seasoned instead. I thoroughly enjoyed it though!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icelandic Fish & Chips also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Icelandic Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icelandic Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.