We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for your money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 22 Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added 22 Hill Hotel to your Saves list
22 Hill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brautarholt 22 - 24, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Bjork) (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Value for your money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

There wasn't a lot that was particularly special about this hotel, but I found it to be great value for your money given city prices. The rooms were plenty big, quiet, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful. The staff was a mixed bag - but for the most part, pretty helpful. We found it to be a pleasant walk into the center of the city. We only wish the black out shades were a little bit wider - to fully block out the light. Great place for a final evening of organizing our bags for the international flight out and a restful night of sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    339
    89
    8
    3
See reviews for
83
298
64
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We arrived after an overnight flight about eight hours early for the 2:00 p.m. check-in, hopeful that we would be able to leave our luggage in the lobby and planning to stagger around the city until we could get to our room and have a nap. Wonder of wonders, the desk clerk volunteered that he had some early check-outs, and if we wanted we could have our room in a hour or so, after the cleaning staff arrived. And he also volunteered that we could pass the time by having our included hotel breakfast that morning instead of the following morning if we wanted to. So we did just that. Not a bad buffet breakfast, either! Room was fine, although I agree with an earlier poster that its long past time to update the little portable TV. Nice to have (instant) coffee in the room, this wasn't always the case in Iceland. The hotel is a little out of the way from the main drag of downtown Reyjavik (but an easy walk), and not exactly fancy, but it was very clean and comfortable and a relatively good bargain given the local prices. ( I suspect we could have eaten a second breakfast the following morning without anyone noticing, but we didn't as we had other plans.)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Hotel Bjork was clean, comfortable but the helpfulness of the staff put it over the top. Check-in and out was seamless. The staff made tour reservations for us. One tour had a really early pickup time so the staff put together a take away breakfast for us. Location was actually great. Up the hill, there were shops and restaurants. Down the hill was a grocery as well as an ice cream shop plus a convenient bus stop. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Iceland.

Room Tip: 3rd floor was great. The lift was convenient and you could see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Hotel Bjork is a pleasant hotel. It was a good price for Reykjavik. It's location is fairly central (about a 25 minute walk to the centre) but quite odd that it seems to be part of an industrial estate. I am guessing due to the surge in popularity of Reykjavik hotels are springing up everywhere. The room was clean with decent beds. The bathroom was quite small. Breakfast was adequate. The staff were not over friendly but efficient.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
92 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Walkable distance from the city centre. Clean modern rooms. Good service. Food is ok. Could do with bigger tv in the room (portable in the 21st century?), more teas/coffees if you fancy more than 2 drinks. But overall I'd be happy to stay here again for the price.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
121 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Hotel Bjork is located a 10 minutes walk from the main shopping street of Reykavijk. The buildings surrounding it are either empty awaiting some kind of refurbishment or hosting small companies. The area is not the fancy part of Reykavijk, Check in was no problem but the girl in the reception was far from polite or nice. We felt more like a pain to her when checkin in than new guests making her have a salary. Came to our room on third floor, a room with 3 meds and a small toilet with shower. A smell of old wet "something" was the first thing we felt when we opened the door. Somehow, having seen the standard of the room did we decide not to complain and stay with this room for the 4 nights we had ahead of us. The beds are okay but not very special, the water pressure in the shower is very low, the toilet is kind of small (and I am not so big), towels very thin but the place is clean and breakfast okay but far from fantastic. If you have a room with street view will you also see the mountains and parts of the bay. If you do not fancy a high class hotel but can accept a room with a little bit better standard than a hostel then this hotel is he place for you. But there is is one "aber", the price! Price is to high for such standard.
The girl in the reception.. She did not even look at people passing her on their way to breakfast. Not a word, not a smile. She was just sitting there surfing the internet. Not a very nice host.

Room Tip: A room on the corner brings nicer view than the other ones but room 325 has a smell included in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Don't be fooled by the exterior or neighborhood, Hotel Bjork is a lovely hotel with a terrific breakfast. Nice rooms, helpful staff, good wi-fi. Restaurant attached is outstanding. One of the best bargains in a pricey city.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
0.7 mi away
Reykjavik Lights
Reykjavik Lights
#13 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 643 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fosshotel Lind
Fosshotel Lind
#29 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
0.4 mi away
4th Floor Hotel
4th Floor Hotel
#40 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik
BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik
#35 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fosshotel Baron
Fosshotel Baron
#32 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,056 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Klettur
Hotel Klettur
#23 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 22 Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 22 Hill Hotel

Address: Brautarholt 22 - 24, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Bjork)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 22 Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel and getaroom.com so you can book your 22 Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 22 Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.