We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Reykjavik Nordica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Reykjavik Nordica to your Saves list
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sudurlandsbraut 2, Reykjavik 108, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and stayed in this hotel for five nights in June. Our queen bed room was on the front side of the hotel with a nice view of the mountains and water (although we were on the 3rd floor, so we weren't high enough for a great view). There was plenty of space for two -- more space than most European hotel rooms I have stayed in. The bathroom was quite sufficient as well (however the tub was slippery and the towels were rather rough). I do agree with other reviewers -- room darkening shades would make the summertime stays much better for those who like to sleep in the dark. The location of the hotel is rather out of the way for the shops and restaurants of the downtown area, but the free bus pass allowed us to get there quickly without having to pay for a taxi. The staff was most friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Although we did not eat in the restaurant, we had a lunch and a late dinner in the bar that were both quite delicious and served quickly.

Room Tip: Best views on the front side of the hotel above the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    774
    183
    33
    15
See reviews for
229
843
130
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MEXICO CITY, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

It is a wonderfull Hotel, expensive but nice. If you have the option to spend more money during your stay, this will be the right place. The staff is very polite. It's located in the east part of Reykajvik, nevertheless you can get city centre walking 20 minutes or you can ask the staff for a free bus pass. I would stay for sure next time i visit Iceland.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Our fabulous trip to Reykjavik was enhanced by the excellent facilities at the Hilton . It is about 10 minutes walk from the town centre and that makes it a quieter location with great parking facilities.We stayed in an executive room ( 9th floor with wonderful view)which allowed us access to a private lounge with beautiful views and complementary breakfast ,teas , coffees all day long. It was well worth the extra charge to have this facility and roomy bedroom with Scandinavian style wooden floors and sitting area. Staff were helpful and efficient and the food was excellent , with the Vox Restaurant providing a good range of light meals or more formal meals .We entertained our Icelandic friends there and they were impressed! Reykjavik is a great place and we will return and will definitely stay again at the Hilton .

Room Tip: Front room for a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Four of us stayed at Hilton because of the brand but were a bit concerned because it isn't in the center of the downtown area. There should be no concern as it is still within walking distance, 25 minutes? BUT the local bus, very clean and modern, stops immediately in front of the hotel. We did not eat at the hotel other than for breakfast which was fine. One of our 2 rooms was spacious and the other was a bit small, just room enough for the luggage so don't reserve the smallest room. Other than that the service was very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Although we spent only one night at this hotel, we were impressed! Granted, the location is not the best for a tourist to use as a base, but free bus service is available through the hotel and many city buses stop right in front. The rooms are very large and comfortable. Ask for a room in the front of the hotel and if it is a sunny day in Reykjavick you will be treated to an amazing view. The Vox restaurant provides a very good breakfast buffet , as well as a huge luncheon spread. Dinner choices are excellent, although the restaurant can be quite noisy in the evening. The TV in the rooms can be difficult to figure out. Also, using a calling card can be a problem as the in-room phones do not work with them. Ask to use a phone in the lobby to make such calls.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed here 1 night at start of tour of Iceland - we consider this Hilton average at best compared to US Hiltons, but compared to other hotels we encountered in Iceland, it was very good, and the restaurant the best we found in Iceland, both for dinner and an extensive buffet breakfast.
The room was large by European standards, with hardwood floors (rooms above could be noisy if hard heels or chairs moving); refig. and coffee maker as well as tv, phone, and wifi. Caution: water can be VERY hot - be careful. also note - in summer, with light almost 24 hrs, the curtains do not block out all light.
Hotel is located close to sports complex and excellent botanical gardens, as well as 'washer-woman' memorial. While a long walk to downtown, the bus is free, and the 'hop on/hop off' bus stops right outside also.
Overall, this would be a 3 star property in the US, but for Iceland it is 4 stars.

Room Tip: Try to get room away from road for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Arrived 24th June to a prompt and efficient welcome. Immaculate bedroom and bathroom, also black out curtains to deal with 24 hours daylight !! Don't bother looking for alternative breakfast elsewhere as the in house breakfasts on a buffet style is perhaps the best I have experienced. Happy hour also most welcome as Icelandic drinks are not cheap. This hotel is not to be missed and the pricing is most competitive.

Room Tip: Front rooms face hills and sea views Rear rooms face car park but also have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Reykjavik Nordica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reykjavik Nordica

Address: Sudurlandsbraut 2, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#2 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#3 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reykjavik Nordica 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Reykjavik Nordica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica Hotel
Hilton International Reykjavík
Hilton Hotel Reykjavik Nordica
Reykjavík Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Reykjavik Nordica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.