We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Reykjavik Nordica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Reykjavik Nordica to your Saves list
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sudurlandsbraut 2, Reykjavik 108, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton for 6 nights.
Positive ponts: the business facilities are very good, the lunch buffet at Vox restaurant is one of the best I've ever had. The staff is very helpfull and friendly. The rooms are clean and well equipped with e.g. deposit box and coffee/tea facilities. Free bus card when going to the city centre.
Negative points:only free wifi in the lobby and business lounge, extra charge when using wifi in the room (not convenient on a business trip). The room is not very dark at night (it doesn't get dark outside). The room was very hot and when opening the windows there was quite some noise. Only cardboard cups for making coffee or tea in the room!?
But I would nevertheless recommend this hotel to anyone going to Reykjavik on business.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side have a wonderful view. The back side looks out on the parking lot and some o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    762
    182
    30
    14
See reviews for
227
823
129
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here as part of a package deal to Reykjavik. As the name suggests, it is all in Scandinavian style. Very light with a lot of wood. One side of the room had a huge window and as we were lucky enough to get a room ot the front we could overlook the bay off Reykjavik with its coastline of snow capped mountains. Quite outstanding. The room had every thing you needed, was clean and pleasant and provided a minibar. We used this for our milk as we had brought muesli so we could have a healthy breakfast in bed rather than paying the hotel buffet prices. Tea/coffee making facilities were also found in the room. We never visited the restaurant, so can not comment on that. Reception was very friendly and welcoming. Always helpful. the hotel offers a bus ticket for free which allows you to use the regular buses all over town. You can also walk into the centre which takes around 15 minutes. A very good idea was the small fridge section with drinks and sandwiches in the reception area where you could grab something for a day out. Next to this was a small travel office where you could get information and make bookings for trips.The hotel also offers a free computer where you can check in for your return flight and print your boarding pass saving you time at the airport.
One very nice feature were the two chairs you could find at the top of the stairs in front of the full glass wall to the bay. A sticker on the window explained to you waht you were seeing. Very nice touch. I would certainly stay here again and can highly recommend the hotel. The reason I am not giving 5 stars is that we did not make use of the restaurant and any other facilities and can therefore not give a full evaluation.

I would like to mention that this hotel is true to the card that suggests you hang up your towels if you are happy to reuse them. All hotels have a card like that in the bathroom but most of them change towels daily, no matter what you do. The Nordica actually only changes towels when you want it too. Top marks for that!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the front to get the views. It is overlooking a very large road but we rarely saw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Excellent, helpful staff. Comfortable rooms. Good breakfasts. Buzzing bar and lounge area in the evenings. Delicious, modern Icelandic cuisine - but a bit pricey. Take the Fly Bus to and from the airport - much cheaper than a taxi

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The best part of our stay was the moment of arrival at 7:00 a.m. when we were allowed to check in. Later in the day, around 1 in the afternoon, the lobby was full of people waiting for their room, and they looked very tired! I would do what you can to request an early check in if arriving from US. We had a room for three, which consisted of two twin beds and a chair that turned into a bed that was not quite as comfortable as a roll-away bed, so beware if you are the third of three people. The room was on the front of the hotel and had a nice view, but nothing I would pay extra for. The room and common areas were clean, and the hotel is in a very quiet part of town so no noise issues. The curtains were in panels and impossible to block out the light, and at the end of May it was pretty light all night long. As Gold members, we had concierge lounge access and that was a bright spot, with soft drinks, bottled water, and hot drinks available throughout the day and a very nice selection of desserts and snacks later in the day. Either many staying here are Gold/Diamond, or you can purchase access as the lounge was usually more crowded than most. Not sure how it is related, but we were told it was an Icelandic holiday weekend when we were there, so they closed the gym very early both days and we were not able to use it. We had the breakfast buffet as part of our room rate, and in hindsight, I would not have paid extra for it as the breakfast in the lounge was sufficient. In terms of location, we were glad to have a rental car as all the attractions and restaurants were pretty far away. Strangest thing in the hotel was the bathroom; you had to climb into the tub/shower as the side was unusually tall (with no hand rail) and there was a tv speaker under the counter, so if the tv was on in the room, you heard it quite clearly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Hilton Nordica is a business type 4* hotel, offering all amenities one may expect on this class type. Large and well equipped rooms, good service, very friendly and helpful staff and an excellent breakfast are on the plus side. Nice conference and meeting rooms, as well as very good coffee breaks and catering service.

Reykjavik is a small and spread city. The hotel is about 2Km or 3Km away from Reykjavik downtown and the port, but the location is good, with plenty of free parking space. The Hotel offer free passes for the public bus service, which is also a convenient option, but since we had a rented car, we never tested it. Anyway, provided the weather permits, you may easily walk the distance.

The hotel is also close to the Laugardalslaug public sports complex and geothermal pool, which may be good a cheap alternative to other more touristic pools and hot pots.

Rooms on the bay side offer magnificient views over the bay and the front hills, but the views on the back also offer wide open views over Reykjavik.

I do not give 5/5 to Hilton Nordica considering two minus points:

1. No free Internet in the rooms, which is only available by default in public areas. I believe that this should be mandatory on any business type hotel or, at least, to have fair tariffs. I must confess that I was lucky enough to get a room near one of the "free" areas, and therefore I can not complain for myself, but most of my colleagues did. It does not makes sense to have to pay by day more than one usually pays per month to a mobile or telco operator to send a few e-mails.

2. Billing process was a small mess. Just after paying I noticed that the billed rate was higher than the one confirmed at booking time. Moreover, since I was on a business trip and I stayed one more night in holidays, I requested the staff to split the bill in two parts, something that the reception was not able to provide at check out time. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and of course recognized the error, but nor the rate not the bill were fixed at checkout because the back-office was closed. Everything was fixed a few days later by e-mail, but even this process requested a few iterations and (friendly) e-mails in order to have everything sorted out. The final bill that was e-mailed to me reported wrong dates and it required a companion letter to clarify it. It was a minor business inconvenience, and Hilton staff made a good effort to solve it, but nevertheless is the type of mistake that disallows me to give a full 5/5.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Nice hotel. Good location. On site tour advisor. Easy to get around city with complimentary bus passes. Great breakfast available at reasonable (for Iceland) price. Good shower. Clean attractive room. Free internet available in lobby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocolalla, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed there for 56 nights, We were on the 3 floor and our room was right about the courtyard where the hot tub was...Unfortunately we had to content with the sucking sounds from it the whole time we were there, even closing the window didn't help..yes it was that loud...my only other gripe is the fact that in order to get wireless for free you had to go down to the lobby. If you wanted it in your room is was expensive and considering we only stayed in our room long enough to sleep it would have been a waste of money. other than that it was a nice place, clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room above the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Reykjavik Nordica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reykjavik Nordica

Address: Sudurlandsbraut 2, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#2 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#3 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reykjavik Nordica 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Reykjavik Nordica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica Hotel
Hilton International Reykjavík
Hilton Hotel Reykjavik Nordica
Reykjavík Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Reykjavik Nordica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.