We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel just outside center city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Reykjavik Nordica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Reykjavik Nordica to your Saves list
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sudurlandsbraut 2, Reykjavik 108, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel just outside center city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here on several visits to Reykjavik. Hotel is clean, comfortable, and has a wonderful breakfast. Nearby is a fantastic pool, restaurants, and a great sports bar just up the hill. Bus service is frequent out the front door thus the whole city is easily accessible from here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Hilton Reykjavik Nordica, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Hilton Reykjavik Nordica.
It is always nice to get a positive feedback from our returning customers. Thank you for your continued loyalty and for recommending us to other readers. Hopefully you will give us the pleasure to accommodate you more often in the future.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    773
    182
    32
    15
See reviews for
229
838
130
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Clean and quiet lodging that lives up to the Hilton brand. Big rooms and very convenient to downtown shopping with free bus passes. Very excellent breakfast too. Easy access to public pool, bus routes and roadways. Wonderful and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Hilton Reykjavik was more modern than many Hiltons I've stated at before with a nice layout and most importantly clean rooms and reasonably comfortable beds. My main reason for only giving an average rating for this hotel is that you have to watch out for extra fee items at the hotel and the lack of close by restaurants or nightlife. For business travels who don't plan to be in downtown Reykjavik this might not be as big a concern. WiFi in rooms is not complementary, and in my opinion at $15 / day was expensive. There is restaurant (VOX) on site that was nice and apparently depending on how you book sometimes includes breakfast with your room and sometimes does not. The hotel bar was well staffed, with great drinks and the perfect location for a evening meeting over drinks for meetup point with friends before heading downtown. If you plan on being downtown late though be aware that it's a pretty good hike back to the hotel. While only about two miles from downtown taxis wanted about $18 US each way to/from the hotel. Hilton does offer buss passes which actually work pretty well to get around in Reykjavik with. Just be aware that the bus service stops at 11 PM, and does not run on Sunday's or holidays.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We chose the Hilton Nordica mainly because we trusted the brand name and breakfast was included with our rate - neither of which disappointed us when we arrived. The hotel, and Iceland itself, was surprisingly more modern than I had anticipated. The hotel lobby was a very inviting modern lounge with free wifi and amazing music streaming through the speakers. The rooms were Scandinavian in design, clean and comfortable. The floors were actually hardwood - which is a nice feature in a hotel room where carpeting gets nasty quickly. The bathroom was very clean and modern, and it even had a full, deep tub. It did not have a fan though. The water pressure was great. The toiletries were high quality. The towels were nice and big, but there weren't enough towel racks or hooks to hang them properly to dry. Wifi in room is not free, so that's a bummer. But nothing is free in Iceland, so that's to be expected. The hotel breakfast was an amazing spread of hot and cold foods from various cuisines/countries. But if you missed breakfast, you were out of luck for snacks unless you wanted to buy something in the very overpriced bar or concessions shelves at the front desk. Or, you could go to the grocery store that was within walking distance. The hotel is situated in a good area with a few restaurants and bus stops (which you can use for free with a hotel bus fare card.) overall it was an enjoyable stay and we would definitely stay there again if we ever return to Iceland.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Hilton Reykjavik Nordica, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Hilton Reykjavik Nordica.
First of all I would like to thank you for recommending us to other readers, we highly appreciate it. Thank you also for notifying us about the towel racks, that´s something we definitely have to look into. I am very pleased to see that you would definitely stay with us again if you ever returned to Iceland. That really means a lot to us and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed for 6 nights in Reykjavik recently on business, and chose the Hilton because of my previous experience with the brand. I have to say it wasn't quite what I expected. It was "OK"...but not brilliant. There are a few things that (for me) would have made the stay far more enjoyable.

The room was furnished in what seems to be a typical Icelandic style....wooden floors, somewhat stark. That was nice for a change. I had one of the upper floor rooms (I paid extra for access to the Executive lounge). That was handy (as I ate a light breakfast there most mornings).

However - the amazing set of windows looking out over the mountains had very light curtains on them. I would have loved block-out curtains so that I wasn't woken by the light. I personally love sleeping in complete darkness, which is what most 5 star hotels in other parts of the world provide.

I also found the mattress to be very firm, so I ended up putting a quilt under me and another one on top of me for added softness. Part of the reason I chose to stay in the Hilton was because in other Hiltons that I've visited, the comfort-top mattresses are just amazing, giving back support but extreme comfort at the same time.

The biggest challenge I had was with the internet. For some reason, my internet connection in my room kept dropping out every 1 to 2 minutes. I was trying to access some accounting files back home through a remote server, and it was so frustrating it was bringing me to tears. The same happened when I was trying to make Skype calls (dropping me off every 1 to 2 mins). In the end, a lovely man at reception took pity on me (after he'd tried for several hours to help me get resolution to the problem), and he suggested a phone card. I purchased one online, putting my home address in Australia as my address. This wasn't a good idea, as I received an email some 24 hours later saying that they couldn't issue it to me until I verified a local address (which I did). So that hold-up meant I was having to make calls to Australia on my mobile....a very expensive option unfortunately.

Would I stay here again? I think I'd be more likely to try another accommodation next time, based on the challenges I had on this trip.

The one thing I loved about this particular Hilton was that it was located across the road from a fabulous raw food and mostly-vegetarian cafe, which I ate at most days. It was also a short walk to where I was working, so its location (while not in town) suited me very well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Hilton Reykjavik Nordica, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear, traveler
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Hilton Reykjavik Nordica.

First of all I am very sorry to hear about the trouble you had with the internet connection. This shouldn´t have happened so please accept our sincerest apologies. I would like to thank you for stating your opinion regarding the black-out curtains. We are aware that those curtains would probably not be considered to be black out curtains in the U.S since they are a bit thinner than the usual black out curtains. Perhaps that it is something that we should consider to have changed. I am glad to see that the location suited you well but I am however sorry to hear that you did not like your overall stay at the Hilton Reykjavik Nordica. I hope that you will be able to give us another chance some other day and I am sure that you will experience us in a more positive way.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holley, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

If your going to spend any time in Reykjavik Iceland I highly recommend that you stay at the Hilton at the HHoners executive level if you can. The Money you will save with the Executive lounge in dining costs will be worth it in the end. On a one week stay I saved at least $300 with this service. Staff is the best, rooms are very nice and bus pass is a good bonus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Devon
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

On arrival we were given a room on the 6th floor facing the mountains, beautiful view and very special. Breakfasts were very good. We picked up free wi-fi in reception and had to renew every 24 hours and it worked in the room so don't understand how this is a problem for some. Location is out of centre but with the free bus pass we went to and fro without any problem at all. The Krinlan shopping centre was a 15 minute walk away for heavy duty shopping. No problems at all with the hotel and that is what makes the stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Mountain front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Hilton Reykjavik Nordica, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Hilton Reykjavik Nordica.
I would like to thank you for writing such a positive review, we really appreciate it. Hopefully you will have the chance to visit us again sometime in the future and if you do, I advise you to upgrade to an Hilton Executive suite for an even greater experience.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Reykjavik Nordica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reykjavik Nordica

Address: Sudurlandsbraut 2, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#2 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#3 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reykjavik Nordica 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Reykjavik Nordica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica Hotel
Hilton International Reykjavík
Hilton Hotel Reykjavik Nordica
Reykjavík Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Reykjavik Nordica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.