We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean, staff outstandingly approachable, helpful and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Reykjavik Nordica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Reykjavik Nordica to your Saves list
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sudurlandsbraut 2, Reykjavik 108, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Comfortable and clean, staff outstandingly approachable, helpful and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Hilton for 4 nights. Room was well presented and fitted out. Largest flat screen tv I have seen in a hotel room! Iceland hotels do not seem to have hospitality trays but we found one hidden in a cupboard for some reason. However, it was restocked sufficiently every day. The staff were very helpful and friendly. On the downside the drinks at the bar were very expensive but then Iceland is generally expensive anyway. They had happy hour between 5&7 so that eased the blow a bit. Generally I was very happy with my choice of hotel. Did not have breakfast included which was just as well because we checked in at 3 am and returned from seeing the northern lights at 3 am so would not have got up in time anyway. We did eat in the restaurant. Although it seemed expensive the prices were comparable to a meal in one of our local hotels. BUT, the food was amazing! If you can afford a bit more than usual I would recommend the Hilton!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Hilton Reykjavik Nordica, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Hilton Reykjavik Nordica.
I really enjoyed your positive feedback and I would like to thank you for recommending us to other readers, we highly appreciate it. Hopefully you will give us the pleasure of accommodating you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    872
    200
    38
    20
See reviews for
263
968
138
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed three nites on an IcelandAir tour and loved the included breakfast buffet every morning! Great tasting food and a huge variety! We found the breads and butter in Iceland to be the best anywhere! Service was very good and the desk personnel were extremely friendly and helpful - from helping us with tour reservations and checkin for the airport to holding our luggage on our last day - they always stepped up and made us feel very well taken care of! The decor is very austere and could be stepped up a bit and the rooms were overly warm but those things can be easily reconciled! If you want to be closer to the downtown so you don't have to use expensive taxis or the local bus (at least in March the advertised hotel shuttle wasn't running which was disappointing), then stay somewhere else. Overall a nice, very clean facility.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Hilton Reykjavik Nordica, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Hilton Reykjavik Nordica.
I am glad to see that you found our staff to be helpful, I will make sure that they receive your compliments. Yes you are correct, we have stopped providing shuttle bus but instead we offer a free bus pass that can be used frequently by our guests. This is much more convenient since the bus pass is valid for the bus system in the capital area so our guests can use it to explore the city and everything that it has to offer, free of charge. Furthermore our guests can use it to get to the Reykajvik central area since there is a bus that runs to the downtown area every 15-30 minutes, from the bus station located right outside of the hotel. If you stay with us again, then ask for the free bus pass and make the most out of that service, both to save you some money as well for exploring the city. If you visit us during the summer time, I really think you should give the 20 minute walk into the central area a try, since it gives you the chance to experience Reykavik and on your way you will find a lot of great shops and restaurants.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Hilton. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We were fortunate to have a room with a great view of Reykjavik. There was a fridge in the room, so that enabled us to buy groceries and prepare our meals before we left each day. Our daughters room was not yet ready when we checked in around midday, but that was fine with us, as the staff were trying to get her a room close to ours. We were basically only in the hotel to sleep, so we never made use of any of the other amenities. The only disappointment was the free internet did not work on any of our devices (we were trying to get to see the Northern lights), but they have another computer that guests can use and that did help us plan for that. We had rented a car and there was plenty of free parking, all day and all night. All the staff were friendly and very helpful.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Hilton Reykjavik Nordica, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Hilton Reykjavik Nordica.
It was really pleasant to read your positive review. I am glad to see that you found our staff friendly and helpful, I will make sure that they receive your compliments. I am also glad that you could make use of the mini fridge, that´s the whole reason why we have it in the guest rooms. I am sorry to hear about the internet, we were experiencing some problems with the WiFi network last week, but it has been taken care of now so if you visit us again, it shouldn't be a problem for you. Hopefully you will have the chance to visit us again.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel. First impresions say a lot about the hotel so Hilton owners you should take note of what people say about your front desk staff. Arrogant mis informed, uncaring, and inexprience when dealing with guests. I tried to call reception from my room, no answer so I called housekeeping, no answer finally called customer services, no answer in the end I had to go to the front desk from the 8th floor. Food was very good but as you expect a little pricey. Breakfast was very good. Every where was clean and tidy but very sparse in your room. We had no drawers at all and little room to unpack, I lived out of my suit case for my duration. Spa closed early. WHY???? people want to have at least a hot tub or steam room / sauna in the evenings surly you should provide these basic ammenites. and why should you pay for WIFI in your room dont you think you charge enough already. When I go back in September I will stay in a diferent hotel in the town I might suggest you do the same.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Cool is not a term usually associated with big hotel chains but it sits well with this Hilton located in Iceland's capital. Stylish in a nordic kinda way best sums up this one. Just back from a three night stay. Hiltonhonours gold status saw me upgraded on check in to a larger room on the top floor but perhaps the most important benefit this brought was access to the executive lounge. Unlike some other lounges this one had some seriously excellent food between 6pm and 8pm and great free drinks including top notch spirits. Iceland is a little cheaper than it used to be but 7 or 8 euro for a beer is still quite possible so this was a real perk! Breakfast was usual good hilton standard with some local variation like smoked lamb among the cold cuts and a great Icelandic alternative to yoghurt called Skyr which is delicious. Staff fine but not overflowing with warmth but that can be the way in Iceland. A little bit out of the centre but I found it walkable plus reception will lend you a free bus pass to us public transport to downtown if you ask. Handy Icelandair computer terminal in the lobby allows you to do online check in and print out your boarding pass.

Room Tip: upper floors at the front of the hotel have fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We arrived at the hotel very early in the morning (8am) and were delighted to find our room was ready for occupation which was a great relief after an all night flight from Toronto. Check in staff were very helpful and all the pre-arranged additions to our stay were exactly as contracted. The rooms are very spacious, exhibited a high quality of fit and finish, very comfortable and very, very clean. We ate one supper at the hotel and we're totally awed by the quality of the food and the entire dining experience. The included breakfast buffet was very good with a great variety of well prepared hot and cold dishes to suit most tastes. The only small negative is that the hotel is a 20 minute walk from downtown Reykjavik which is not an obstacle if one likes to walk as we do. Numerous city buses passed by the location and there was always a small fleet of taxis at the ready. Any question we asked of reception staff regarding attractions in Reykjavik was answered in a very helpful manner. I will stay at this location again despite its distance from the city centre.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side of the hotel face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Clean Hotel lovely view from room.Nice bath and comfortable beds.
Free shuttle usefull as good walk into town, able to get in to have meal and then catch to return to hotel.
Free parking and easy access to get to the airport.
Downside was walk along busy road into town if shuttle not available as didn't seem to run in afternoon
Wi Fi was not free in room had tp pay if wanted

Room Tip: Pay for superior and get mountain and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Reykjavik Nordica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reykjavik Nordica

Address: Sudurlandsbraut 2, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#2 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#2 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reykjavik Nordica 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Reykjavik Nordica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica Hotel
Hilton International Reykjavík
Hilton Hotel Reykjavik Nordica
Reykjavík Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Reykjavik Nordica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.