We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Reykjavik Nordica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Reykjavik Nordica to your Saves list
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sudurlandsbraut 2, Reykjavik 108, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
“Comfortable, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We spent 4 nights here over New Years 2013. Our stay was extremely comfortable, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Restaurant and bar were good, but lacking in variety and very expensive (even for Reykjavik). I think next time in Reykjavik we will go for an apartment, but this was the perfect place to use as our first trip. The complimentary shuttle downtown was useful, and any excursion/tour we took was able to pick us up right from the lobby. The distance from downtown wasn't a big deal, as the ride is only 5-10 minutes, and we probably could've walked if it were less windy outside. This was also much much cheaper than any of the hotels right in the city. All in all, we are very happy we chose this hotel and can't wait to return to Reykjavik!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    774
    183
    33
    15
See reviews for
229
842
130
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Larkspur,California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed on the Executive floor on the water view side. The junior suite type room had a writing desk, a flat screen tv in the middle of the room which turned 180 degrees so you could watch it from your bed or from one of the two chairs on the other side. There was a small refrigerator to keep your water cool. WiFI is available either in the lobby or bar area and in the Executive floor lounge.Breakfast and cocktails/hors d'oeurvres there were delicious and enjoyable with the harbor view. The rooms are clean and contemporary. We did not try the bar, but it looked inviting for both drinks and coffee. The award winning restaurant is fantastic with a very good wine selection. We think Iceland grows some of the best food in the world (if not the best) and the hotel's restaurant, VOX, showcases this well.
The hotel is a nice 10 minute walk to city centre, but the hotel has a shuttle and cabs are available.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We are on day 3 of a 4 night stay at the Hilton Nordica and it is lovely. Rooms are mid-sized (large by European or NYC standards), furnishings are modern and well kept, bathrooms have tubs and the beds are very comfy. On the suggestion of another tripadvisor review, we upgraded to the executive floor and it was a brilliant decision - free access to gym and spa, the lounge has drinks and coffee throughout the day, snacks afternoon and evening and breakfast in the morning. With Icelandic prices, we've likely more than covered the cost of the upgrade in just a daily trip to the spa to use the sauna and visits to the lounge for coffee and sodas and such, and it has been really nice to be relieved of the feeling of being nickled and dimed. It has really elevated a simply nice stay to an exceptional stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

What a fantastic hotel!
We stayed for 5 nights as part of a honeymoon package. Easy check-in, champagne and strawberries waiting in room, perfect start!
Hotel facilities are good, but do upgrade for an executive room if you can as it will give you access to the executive lounge at the top of the building: free drinks and nibbles all day with fantastic views! The spa is great (free neck massages on offer, from male and female masseurs) and much appreciated after a day out (too many things to mention here...the Golden Circle and Blue Lagoon obviously, but there is always someone either at reception on in the gift shop who will help you out with the outings/information about what to do in or outside of Reykjavik). The breakfast is to die for, lots on offer, and you shouldn't feel hungry until later in the day! The restaurant is not the cheapest option (a 5 minute walk from the hotel and you'll find several food joints) but worth a try at least once as food is good.
As mentioned everywhere else, the shuttle system to town is irregular but if you don't mind meeting with the unexpected icelandic weather, it's a nice and not too long walk after all.
There is a shopping center less than a mile away.
2 places you should definitely pay a visit in the town center: record shop 12-tonar and the restaurant 3frakker.
Conclusion: a great hotel to explore Reykjavik and its surroundings and to relax after a day sightseeing. We will go back for one of our anniversaries, no doubt...

Room Tip: Front rooms with mountain and sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights over New Year, and it was a reasonable price. The staff were friendly and efficient. Yes it's a short walk out of town, but it's not that far, has fantastic views, a decent restaurant and bar (might just have tried a few of their cocktails - no complaints during happy 2 hours!!), and there a few other restaurants close by. Would be nice to have free wi-fi in the rooms, but it was perfectly pleasant sitting in the bar or the lobby to use the lap top. We left very early to go to the airport, and they were able to let us have something for breakfast to take with us. The room (ordinary one, nothing special) was at the front - big windows, plenty of fireworks to watch), spacious double bed, chair and desk area. Only downside was it was next to the lift shaft, so there was background rumbling every now and then - didn't stop us sleeping, but a bit annoying when lying reading a book.

Room Tip: Avoid anything28 - we were in 528 - it wraps round the lift shaft and can get a bit irritating at ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Well....we left the equator and after a brief stop in good ol' USA we arrived in Iceland for a ten day trip.

I'm sure I'll have more things to write about from here but it is worth starting with the Hilton Hotel and specifically the fantastic health club/spa there.

The Nordica Spa is one of the nicest fitness centers you'll find at any hotel. It is a full fledged health club with weights, exercise equipment and a full array of fitness classes. So far we participated in a "Grit" class, which were pretty high intensity work-outs with a super energetic instructor ( I recommend being in a little shape before embarking on that one). We also enjoyed a shoulder, arm, head and neck massage while in on of several hot tubs at the facility. And there is unlimited ice water with lemon served on the side of the hot tubs.

We are going to try the hot yoga class next. We have enjoyed the treadmills and stationery bikes and have a massage scheduled for Wednesday. There are all kinds of spa treatments, like rubs, wraps, pedicures and manicures available and we haven't been able to decide on one yet.

The staff is exceptionally friendly and they really know their stuff.

Of course there are 100s of things to do here but it sure is nice to have this awesome health club right in the hotel.

Room Tip: The view of the Esja mountain and Reykjavik bay is fantastic from any north facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Out Islands
Top Contributor
566 reviews 566 reviews
175 hotel reviews
Reviews in 195 cities Reviews in 195 cities
426 helpful votes 426 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Its a Hitlon and as such I have certain expectations, which pretty much are ok, clena room, nice building, rather friendly staff, et etc.

However, the fleecing of tourists takes a new twist in Reykjavik:
You have to pay extra to use a hot tub ... 20 Euros, just to sit in there.
its cleverly bundled up with a short 5 min massage...
You do not want the massage, no access to the hot tub for free.

This should stop.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Reykjavik Nordica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reykjavik Nordica

Address: Sudurlandsbraut 2, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#2 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#3 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reykjavik Nordica 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Reykjavik Nordica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica Hotel
Hilton International Reykjavík
Hilton Hotel Reykjavik Nordica
Reykjavík Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Reykjavik Nordica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.